My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Hump Day Highlights

on January 16, 2013

Today was another hectic day at work, but I got lots done, so that was good.  I crossed lots off my “to do” list:  I had a very productive 2.5 hour client meeting, got some urgent requests out to a client at a training session overseas, and just felt good about the day.

All this, despite the fact that I spent about 4 hours of my day travelling  – an hour to work, an hour on the TTC to a client meeting, an hour on the TTC getting back to the office, and then another hour home at the end of the day.  I could have driven to the client meeting, but it would have taken about the same time and not so relaxing, so I opt for the subway where I can read, people watch and just enjoy some “empty” time. 
ttc

As you know, I’m participating in Fitness Cheerleader’s #31Days.  Yesterday’s challenge was to do a handstand push-up.  I had a completely insane day yesterday and didn’t get to the challenge. So, first thing when I got home from work, I put on some good workout clothes, grabbed my little guy to take the video, and then attempted to complete my first handstand push-up.

Let me tell you…this was no easy challenge.  Actually getting into the handstand was the hardest part!  I tried for about 4 minutes and couldn’t even get into the handstand.  Then I took a break while my little guy tried and was practically successful on his very first attempt!  Little show off!  The video below is my first try of my second set of attempts.  It’s a pretty weak push-up, but for my first one, I’d say it wasn’t too bad!

I just showed hubs the video, and he says “that’s pretty weak”.  Well, you just know we are going to see how he does just as soon as I finish writing this post.  I’ll be sure to update with his awesome video too!

Today’s #31days challenge was to “plank it out”.  I’ve never really done that many planks.  I see lots of people on Twitter and Instagram who seem to take part in the “plank a day” thing.  So far, I haven’t jumped on that bandwagon.  So, I’m going to set the laptop down, hit the deck and do a plank…I suspect I will be right back!  …..  Yep, I was right!  31.4 seconds.  Pathetic for sure. Maybe I should add the Plank a Day to my routine to try to build some core strength. 

How was your Hump Day? 
Have you ever done a handstand push-up?
Do you do a “plank a day”?

6 responses to “Hump Day Highlights

  1. j! ayson says:

    I think you did awesome with the handstand pushup. I probably couldn’t even get into a handstand! Definitely something I want to try!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I was amazed that I could even sort of do it. Getting into the handstand wasn’t easy! My first few attempts were quite hilarious! Those will not make it to the blog!! 🙂

      Like

  2. That was awesome actually! I’ve never tried one, but I’m pretty sure I’d fall on my head! And that’s IF I even made it into handstand position 🙂 I’ve been hearing about this plank a day thing too! I might give it a go…my core needs some serious work 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      It was fun to try. It is definitely NOT easy (despite telling me mine was “weak” hubs was not able to do it at all – he got into the handstand but couldn’t move once he was there!). You should give it a try. It was kind of fun! I found the plank a lot harder. I may try to do one before bed each day now to try and improve on my very pathetic time!

      Like

  3. kepotts says:

    Oh my gosh—awesome work! I’ve tried to do one & can’t. I need to suck it up & learn how!

    Like

Leave a Reply

