My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five – Saturday Edition

on January 19, 2013

Happy weekend! Welcome to the Friday Saturday Five!

20130119-164830.jpg
This slightly late post is coming to you from a hotel room in London, Ontario. We are here with my little guy’s hockey team for a tournament. Without further delay, here’s this week’s Five!

1. I love watching my little guy play hockey. He has the biggest love of the game and puts his whole heart into every shift. Here he is before the first game..giving me the “Come on mom, enough with taking pictures of me for your blog” face.

20130119-165827.jpg
And here’s a picture from game 2 of him in the penalty box! He got his first penalty ever for being a little too aggressive when going for the puck in the corner. He was charged with a roughing penalty and when he got called he did that “who me” gesture. It was priceless. The picture is not very good as it was taken with my iPhone from across the rink, but there he is, all alone, in the “sin bin”.

20130119-170226.jpg
He was quite proud of his penalty. It makes me laugh because he is so not that kind of player. Although, since his team was shut out that game, at least he made it to the scoresheet!

2. My food consumption the last two days has been less than ideal. And I’m not talking just a little less, I’m taking just about as far away from clean as you can get! Three meals a day in restaurants is not good. The healthiest thing I have eaten so far this weekend was a Sonoma Chicken Salad from Kelsey’s for lunch yesterday. The worst thing that I had is, by far, this morning’s breakfast. OH. MY. GOD. It was bad…and I mean BAD!

20130119-172519.jpg
Seriously, that coupled with the Starbucks Grande Non-fat no water Chai I had with it, and I had pretty much consumed my entire allotment of calories for the whole day by 9:30 this morning. While it was quite tasty (seriously those damn Cinnabons are sooooooo good) I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as I could have since every bite I just kept thinking about all those calories, grams of fat and sugar! I probably shouldn’t have looked up the nutritional info on MFP until after I ate it! Oh well. It will be a long time before I eat one of those things again!

3. GO LEAFS GO!. At long last, the NHL season finally kicks off tonight.

20130119-175251.jpg
The Leafs (my team) are starting their season with an away game against the Montreal Canadiens. I will be watching this game with other families from the hockey team. We didn’t advance to play tomorrow, but some families decided to stay over tonight anyways. We’ve got a private room with its own TV booked at Kelsey’s (which is right next door to the hotel). So, I’m sure I will continue my filthy food habits and have beer and chicken wings or nachos while I watch the game!

4. I am obsessed with kettlebells. I have been looking online and various websites and I’ve found a couple of books from the library’s digital collection that deal with kettlebells and a few specifically kettlebells for women. I am reading like crazy and I think I am going to build a workout schedule that has me “swinging” 3 days a week. I’ve read so many stories about how adding adding kettlebell workouts and eating clean has transformed people’s bodies. I’m talking significant weightless of 100 pounds or more. I only want to lose 5-10 pounds, but I’m very interested in changing the shape of my body. From what I’ve read, kettlebell swings are the perfect exercise as they engage the whole body, burn fat like crazy, and tone muscles, all with very short but intense workouts. So, I’m going to keep reading and come up with a plan. I can’t wait to get swinging!

20130119-180333.jpg

5. After the food weekend I’ve had, I need to get right back into Clean Eating BIG TIME. I need to just accept the fact that this weekend was an eating disaster and let it go. I have all my Clean Eating magazines on my iPad, so I will take some time on the drive home tomorrow to plan my meals for the week. Then I need to get groceries and stick to the plan.

20130119-181438.jpg
Hopefully for tomorrow’s post I will have an awesome meal and workout plan for the week. Wish me luck!

Have you ever had a completely disastrous eating weekend?
How did you get yourself back on track?

Are you cheering for the Leafs tonight?

Leave a Reply

