My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Cleaning Up On Monday

on January 21, 2013

Happy Monday!

Normally I am not a fan of Mondays, but after the bad food weekend I had, I was looking forward to a fresh start and getting back on track.

Today I was determined to eat clean all day and get a workout in.

So, here’s what was on the menu today.
Breakfast: 2 eggs (scrambled in the microwave) with a slice if ham, slice of cheese and some blackberries.

20130121-224321.jpg

Lunch: Leftover spaghetti squash with chicken and pears.

20130121-224430.jpg
with a delicious Clean Eating Dark Fudgy Brownie for dessert…which, by the way, was amazing! (Special thanks to my sister Erin for sharing her yummy baking)

20130121-224851.jpg

Dinner: I tried a new recipe tonight – Clean Eating Spicy Corn Chowder, from the Best of Clean Eating 3 Cookbook.

20130121-225949.jpg
This recipe was easy, tasty, and in true Clean Eating fashion, made enough for 3 leftover meals. I’m starting to wonder if maybe I have smaller servings than they suggest in the recipes, because I almost always have leftovers?? Oh well…I love leftovers!

I also had a couple of apples for snacks today – one this afternoon and one tonight while watching Californication. All in all, I’m quite happy with my food choices today…so much better than what I ate this weekend!

While I was waiting for the chowder to simmer, I headed upstairs and got a quick workout in. I didn’t really have a plan, but I knew I wanted to swing a kettlebell. I’m reading 3 books right now about kettlebell workouts. They all say how great the basic 2 hand swing is, so I thought I would do that tonight. I set my timer for 20 1-minute intervals..and then I started swinging! I did 20 swings per minute. At the beginning I had lots of time left in my minute to rest/recover, but as each minute went by and I did more and more swings, I had less and less time to rest. In the end I did 400 swings and was a sweaty mess at the end of my workout. I wore my Polar HRM and this is what the workout looked like:

20130121-231532.jpg
Not bad for 21 minutes, and much better than just sitting on the couch!

Tomorrow I have more clean eats on the menu – YAY!!! I don’t what my workout will be yet, but I’m sure I will find something good on the Fitness Blender website. I’ll see what I can find tomorrow.

Today was a good day. I’ve gotten the week off to a good, clean start. Looking forward to keeping it going all week long!

How was your Monday?
Did you eat clean?

Leave a Reply

