My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Recipe Roundup

on January 22, 2013

I am quite happy to say that today was a pretty good day food-wise. 

Yesterday’s breakfast was so good, I had pretty much the same thing today (minus the blackberries, since I ate them all yesterday).  Lunch was not the best – well, it was delicious, just not the “cleanest”.  I had to go to the mall to deal with some cell phone stuff for my company, so my colleague and I ate at Il Fornello.  It was $10 pizza day.  I had a thin crust Diavolo pizza…spicy saprosetta, hot chili peppers, black olives and basil…totally delicious, and I enjoyed every bite.

Dinner was another new Clean Eating magazine recipe – Cauliflower, Goat Cheese & Chicken Ramekins from the June 2012 issue.  This dish is supposed to be prepared in individual ramekins, but I don’t have any of those, so I just cooked it all in a casserole dish.  It took a little longer than the recipe said it would, but it was worth the wait…this was another hit! 
cauliflower goat cheese chicken It was also a super easy recipe.  Basically you chop everything up, mix in a few things and throw it in the oven.  I am too lazy to type out the recipe, so I took a picture of it from my digital edition on my iPad.
CGC recipeThe chicken wasn’t quite cooked after 30 minutes at 375, so I cranked it up to 450 and gave it another 15 minutes or so. 

While the dish was baking, I had just enough time to squeeze in a workout.  (I love when recipes give me enough time to workout while they simmer or bake or whatever!)  I hit the Fitness Blender website and looked through the workouts.  In the end, I settled on a 25 minute “Red Light Green Light Workout – Glutes, Abs, and Cardio Workout”.  This was as series of 2 minute exercises with random intervals of work and rest. If it works, here’s the video (why can I not get the actual video to insert…ugh…it is driving me crazy!  For some reason the plug in isn’t working)  Anyways, here is the link to it http://www.fitnessblender.com/v/exercise-detail/Red-Light-Green-Light-Workout-Glutes-Abs-and-Cardio-Workout/du/  It’s a neat concept with the red light/green light thing…you go hard for however long it might be and then get a short break.  I liked it.  In the end, my 25 minutes of work resulted in this:
green light red light polarThis was not quite the level of calorie burn they said this workout should achieve (201-306 estimated by the Fitness Burner people), but again, it was better than what I would have burned had I just sat on the couch while dinner cooked, so it’s all good.

Today I did something that I can’t really believe.  I think I must be a bit crazy, because I voluntarily (with a little encouragement from my sister) signed up for the Goodlife Toronto Half Marathon on May 5. 
goodlife reg confirmation I guess deep down I must really like running, otherwise I might actually be crazy to keep torturing myself like this!  I suppose this means I better get my butt back out there a couple of times a week to be ready to start training hard in a month or so.  I need to find a training program.  I will either find something online, or I might use the schedule my friend Kathy created for me for the Niagara Half I ran last October, but maybe shorten it a bit, so I’m not so sick of running by the time the race actually gets here. 

And finally, I have been asked for the recipe for the Spicy Corn Chowder that I made yesterday.  It really was good, and very easy to prepare.  Again, I’m lazy, so here’s a picture of the recipe taken from a screen shot of my Zinio copy.  I discovered that the recipe was in the Comfort Foods magazine as well as the new Clean Eating 3 Cookbook.  Anyways..here it is.  I hope you give it a try.
spicy corn chowder recipe 
Alright..that’s enough for today!  I’m off to bed. 

Do you have a good half marathon training schedule you could share with me?

Does anyone know why I can’t insert videos that actually show up as the video when I’m posting from Windows Live Writer?  I’ve tried to use the Plug-In but it’s still not working….ugh! 

Cheers!

2 responses to “Recipe Roundup

Leave a Reply

