My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

on January 23, 2013

Holy cow! It is freezing outside today. This morning while I was driving to work it was -21 Celcius (which is about -6 Fahrenheit). However you want to look at it, it’s friggin’ COLD! It gradually got warmer throughout the day, and it’s around -12 now…still cold, but not so bad.

Anyways, enough about the weather, although I will mention it again a little later in the post.

I had another good day food-wise. Breakfast was another ham & cheese scrambled egg bake. These quick and easy breakfasts are hitting the spot for me and keeping me full right up until lunchtime.

Lunch today was a little later than usual since I had to go to the dentist at noon. I ate once I got back to the office around 1pm. I briefly considered eating at the food court in the mall where my dentist is, but made the right decision to go back and eat my clean leftovers. Today I enjoyed the last of the Spaghetti Squash with Chicken & Pears. It was just as delicious as it was the first night. I also enjoyed some snap peas with jalapeño Greek yogurt dip. This lunch was much healthier and probably much tastier than anything I would have found to eat at the mall. I made a good decision! 🙂

Tonight’s dinner took a last minute change. Originally I was planning on a relatively simple dinner of baked chicken (possibly stuffed with spinach and ricotta), broccoli, and corn. This was a special request from my son. I even stopped at the SuperStore to get some chicken breasts since I forgot to take any out of the freezer before work. Then, I walk in the door after work and as I’m searching my magazines for the recipe for the stuffed chicken, the phone rings and it’s Junior asking to eat dinner at his friend’s house. Figures! So, rather than make his “special dinner” when he wasn’t going to be here to enjoy it, I put the chicken in the fridge for tomorrow, and instead whipped up a super quick, super tasty Clean Eating recipe: Spicy Spinach and Chickpeas.

20130123-231915.jpg
The recipe has paprika and cumin in it, to give it a bit of spice, but I kicked it up a notch with some added Sriracha! Yummo!

Here’s what you’ll need for this dish (from Clean Eating Quick & Easy Meals 2012):

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 bag spinach
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 15oz can of chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp whole wheat bread crumbs
  • 1/2 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar

    Cooking instructions:

  • Heat oil in a large skillet and add garlic and spinach. Cook for 2-3 minutes until spinach is wilted.
  • In a bowl, combine chickpeas, bread crumbs, paprika, cumin, S&P. Add this chickpea mixture to the skillet with the spinach and cook until the chickpeas are heated – about 3-4 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and stir in the vinegar.

    As is, this recipe serves two, so I doubled it, since I had 3 to feed, plus wanted extra for lunch. Each serving is 1.5 cups for 345 delicious calories.

    Originally I was planning on doing a workout while the chicken was baking, but when I changed the dinner menu, there wasn’t any “bake” time anymore. After dinner I didn’t really feel like working out, and was feeling pretty tired. So, I did the obvious…dragged hubs out for a walk around the hood with me! He was less than enthusiastic since it is freezing outside, but I made him bundle up and off we went. The plan was to head out along our usual route and stop in and pick up our little guy from his friend’s house along the way. After a short visit, I bundled back up and finished the rest of my walk alone, while hubs brought Junior back home. In the end, despite it being -12 degrees out, I enjoyed the walk and wasn’t cold at all. I was dressed for it and the cool temps were a good motivator to keep a good pace! Here’s how the walk looked tonight: 32 minutes and 183 calories burned!

    20130123-234328.jpg
    After the walk I sat on the couch and watched TV totally guilt free!

    Now, it’s almost midnight and I need to get my butt up to bed. 6:30am comes early!

    How was your Wednesday?
    Are you managing to stay warm in this ridiculously cold weather?

    2 responses to “Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

    1. j! ayson says:

      I’m definitely trying to stay warm over here! Woke up to -36 😦
      That recipe looks absolutely delicious! I’m definitely going to give it a try.

      Like

      • cathyo says:

        Yikes…now that’s cold…and quite a change from the balmy temps of Mexico! Let me know how you like the recipe. It’s super quick…and quite tasty. enjoy! ….and stay warm!

        Like

    Leave a Reply

