My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Arena…Gym…Arena…COUCH!

on February 2, 2013

That pretty much sums up my day.

I spent 7:30-11:00am at the arena with my younger son.  He had 2 games today, one at 8am and the other at 10am.  That was a long time to hang at an arena.  He, of course, had an awesome time!  They played very well, and won their first game. After the game, the kids entertained themselves running all over the rink, watching the game that was playing between their two games, had some snacks.  Then it was back into the change room to suit up for game two.  The second game got off to a rough start and they were down 2-0.  In the end, they fought back and tied 2-2.  It was a great morning of hockey, and Jackson had a blast.
eat sleep play hockey 
After game two, I went straight from the arena to the “box”.  I really want to call it the “gym”, but apparently CrossFit gyms are referred to as the “box”.  No idea why…I’m guessing because there is really nothing fancy about them  Check out this Greatist article about all things CrossFit.

I went to the 11:30 class and this was the WOD today.
WOD Feb 2I’m learning that the WOD is only part of the workout at CrossFit.  They always – at least both times I’ve been to a class – do a good warm-up and then a strength training move.  Today’s warm up was burpees, plank, mountain climbers, boot straps, and lunges.  The strength training move today was ring dips. This was to get us ready for the “muscle-ups” part of the workout.  Today’s class was all women, so instead of muscle-ups, we did ring dips.  I had never done a ring dip before.  I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to be able to do one, but with a band for help, I did it!  I think I might have done close to 15 or so, and I was very happy with that.

The WOD also had double unders so we took some time to practice those as well.  As a kid I used to skip all the time during recess at elementary school.  I’ve skipped a couple of times since then, but not really very much.  Double unders are not that easy!  You’ve got to jump and move rope under your feet two times before you touch down again.  During practice I could do maybe one or two in a row, but no more.  My arms got a bit beat up being lashed with the rope.  I’ve got a couple of nice welts on each arm!
welts

After the strength move and skipping practice, we got down to business with the WOD.  The kicker for this workout is that there is a 12 minute cap.  You do as much as you can in 12 minutes and that’s it…finished or not, you are done!  

We got the countdown and we were off.  Throwing a medicine up the wall 150 times.  Holy crap, that was exhausting.  I barely finished the wall balls within the 12 minutes.  I had time to skip for maybe 30 seconds.  I don’t know how they count that, but it’s a DNF in run lingo…I think in the CrossFit world they count the number of reps that you did complete.  I did 150 wall balls, plus maybe 6 double unders…so my score is 156. That will be my goal to be next time we do this workout.  While I’m disappointed that I didn’t finish the workout, I’m not too crushed since no one in the class today finished the whole workout – no one even finished the skipping, and quite a few girls didn’t get through the wall balls..so it could have been worse!. 

Tomorrow is a rest day so the box is closed…and I’m very glad!  Every muscle in my body is aching!  I can feel muscles I didn’t even know I had.  I’m looking forward to giving my body and break and doing as little as possible tomorrow. 

I’ve looked ahead to Monday’s workout and it is the infamous “Filthy Fifty”…I’m scared already!

Filthy fifty 
After my workout, it was home to shower and change, grab a bite to eat and then head back to the arena for my older son’s game.  His team is not doing so well this year and had another rough go of it, losing 4-0. 

After this game I came home and spent some quality time on my couch.  I was so tired and had zero energy.  I tried unsuccessfully to nap, but did enjoy just lying around doing nothing. 

I did not have my best food day ever.  I had a Starbucks Chai Latte and yogurt parfait while watching my son’s second game.  Lunch was some leftover Spicy Sausage & Hashbrown Pie and a Greek yogurt.  Dinner didn’t really happen, but instead we had a couple of snacky dishes.  My son wanted some Edamame.  There is a restaurant down the street a ways from us that has a really good edamame dish.  They drizzle a balsamic glaze over them. I searched online for a recipe for edamame.  I didn’t find a good balsamic recipe, but did see one that had XO sauce.  I love XO sauce, and had a couple of small jars in my cupboard, so whipped up some Edamame with and XO Oyster sauce with sesame seeds.  The dish looked amazing and tasted fantastic!  edamameHubs was still hungry after the edamame, so i made some toquitos (served with fat free sour cream and salsa verde) to fill the void.  Not the best diet-wise, but pretty tasty.  I limited myself to 2!

toquitos

Tonight we watched a really cool documentary by Dave Grohl (lead man of the Foo Fighers, and drummer for Nirvana) called “Sound City”, about a recording studio in Van Nuys, California.  In it’s day, just about anybody who was anybody in the rock and roll world had recorded there:  Rick Springfield, Tom Petty, Nirvana, Fleetwood Mac, Neil Young, Bruce Springsteen…and so many more.  If you’ve got some free time, and like music, check it out, it’s quite good. 

Saturday Night Live just came on (it’s a repeat!), which is a signal that it is too late and I should get by achy body into bed.  Story of my life! 

How was your Saturday? 
Did you have a good workout?  If you do CrossFit…how do you feel about not being able to finish the WOD. 

Leave a Reply

