My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Super Sunday

on February 3, 2013

Happy Super Bowl Sunday!

I am not a big football fan, but I am watching the game tonight.  I not a fan of either team, but I’d like Baltimore to win because Michael Oher plays for them.  He was the guy who the movie “The Blind Side” was about. Up until the power outage delay, it looked like the Ravens were going to run away with it.  Now, as I write, the 49ers have started their comeback and the score stands at 31-23 in favour of Baltimore.  It’s making the game interesting, that’s for sure, but I hope the Ravens can hand on for the win.  Time will tell.

Before game time, I had a pretty typical Sunday. (Oh boy…Kaepernick just ran it in to get SF within 2.  Didn’t get the 2 point conversion, so it’s 31-29 Ravens.)  My day started at the arena for my older son’s game.  After a tough loss yesterday, the boys came out strong and managed a tie today.  Given the way their season has gone, a tie is a victory for us. 

After the game I got down to menu and workout planning for the week and hit the grocery store for needed supplies.  Here’s how things look:

BREAKFASTS:  Clean eating Hash Brown Sausage & Egg Muffins (I finally made these today, after not getting to them last week).
 egg muffins LUNCHES:  Most days lunch will be leftover whatever we had the night before for dinner. 

DINNERS:   I’ve got some good eats lined up for this week:
– Mediterranean veg & white bean penne
– Tamari honey chicken & broccoli with almond butter sauce
– Sesame pork tenderloin & baby bok choy
– Crock pot Sante Fe Chicken

SNACKS:  I’ve got hummus and veggies, apples, my no-bake chocolate cookies and I made some kale chips today, so have 3 containers of those as well.  Hopefully this will all help me avoid eating any crap snacks.
kale chips

WORKOUTS:  My workout schedule looks like this:

    • Monday:  CrossFit 8:30pm (WOD is the Filthy Fifty…it looks tough)
    • Tuesday:  Fitness Blender yoga workout
    • Wednesday:  CrossFit 8:30pm
    • Thursday:  Hockey 7:30pm
    • Friday:  CrossFit 5:30pm
    • Saturday/Sunday:  who knows!  We will be out of town with my older son’s hockey team for a tournament.  That is why I’m squeezing my 3 crossfit workouts into the week rather than saving one for the Saturday class.  Depending on what time we get home on Sunday, I may try to go for a short run, or maybe swing a kettlebell.  I will leave it open and see what happens.
      crossfit pride

Today was a rest day for me…and I was very glad it was!  I am achy all over.  When I woke up this morning, I stretched and everything hurt!  I tried to find a part on my body that didn’t hurt.  I thought I found one with my forearms….but then I bent my wrist a different way and there it was….pain!  I am not complaining…I love it.  To me, the pain lets me know I am working hard and will be seeing results.  So far the scale hasn’t moved, but hopefully it will start to move in the right direction soon.

good thing come 
Here’s looking forward to a good week ahead.

What’s on your meal plan for the week?
What’s your workout schedule look like?

And just as I finish up….the Ravens win the Super Bowl!  Yay for Michael Oher!

4 responses to “Super Sunday

  1. Love your meal plan and fitness layout for the week! Breakfast I have been hooked on warm Apple Slaw of late due to the weather. Lunch is the same with leftovers. Dinner this week is looking like: Moroccan Pork Chops, Chicken and Spinach, lastly Pork and Spinach. The rest will be decided tomorrow.

    Like

  2. I’m bad and don’t really plan my meals – but – I shop very well, and base meals around the vegetables I purchase as I go through the week so I get them all eaten, and keep the snacks to a minimum.

    Workouts – Monday, 1.5 hour bodyfit yoga class (mostly done with a bosu – hard, but I love it), Tuesday – walk with running intervals if we don’t get more snow (please, please, please, no more), Wednesday – aquajogging in the pool, Thursday – rest day… Friday – more aquajogging, Saturday – I do whatever I can remember from the yoga class on Monday, Sunday – 40 mins cardio in the gym – 10 mins per machine.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      sounds like you will be moving it this week! I find i’m more successful with my clean eating if I pick my recipes then shop to them. I avoid grabbing anything “impulse”….if it’s not on the list, it doesn’t get put in the grocery cart. I do buy some treats for the kids, but those aren’t too tempting because I think they taste awful.

      We don’t have any snow… 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

