My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

It Hurts To Type

on February 4, 2013

Seriously…it hurts to type!

Every muscle in my body is sore…and I love it!

Today it hurt to type, turn the steering wheel in the car, open doors, lift my arms above my shoulders for anything, and just about anything else!

That being the case, I was a bit nervous a LOT nervous about today’s CrossFit workout.  The website said today we would be doing “The Filthy Fifty”.  This is what’s involved:

For time:
50 Box jump, 24 inch box
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
Walking Lunge, 50 steps
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press, 45 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

I wont lie..I wasn’t really looking forward to going tonight, since I’m pretty sure it was going to be an hour of pure hell.

So, imagine my surprise relief when I walked into the gym tonight and learned that we would not be doing the filthy fifty, but rather a completely different workout – a 7 minute AMRAP of burpees with a jump to touch a target 6 inches above fingers when standing.

This sounded like it would be an easier workout than the filthy fifty, but after completing it, and almost tossing my dinner onto the floor a couple of times, I will tell you that it was tough.  I’m learning that all CrossFit workouts are tough. Tonight I also learned that I should eat less before going to the gym!

We were paired up for the workout – one person did the workout, the other counted the burpees.  This was a good idea, because after I got to 10, I wasn’t counting anymore…I was just focusing on getting down, up and then jumping to hit that damn target (which was a plate on a bar suspended from the ceiling on a set of rings).  If you missed touching the target on your jump, you had to jump again.  I missed a couple of times…and it sucked to have to jump again.

At the end of the 7 minutes I had done 58 burpees.  Not so good, but I’ll take it.  Scores were posted on the board and I beat a few scores that other women posted throughout the day, but I was way below the top score of 118.  Can you believe that? 118 burpees with a 6 inch jump in 7 minutes.  That’s impressive!  Maybe one day I will get there, for now I was just happy that I did manage to get through it without throwing up…that’s a victory in my books!

crossfit out of shape

Tomorrow I don’t have a CrossFit workout scheduled.  I’m hoping to do a Fitness Blender yoga workout to help stretch my achy muscles.

Now, I’m going to bed.  I was up at 5:55am so I could have my son to school by 7:30 for soccer practice.  Tomorrow I need to get him there at the same time for his indoor soccer tournament.  I am not looking forward to getting up that early two days in a row…especially since I’m getting to bed much later than I was hoping.  Oh well…that’s life in my world.

How was your Monday?
What was your workout today?
Have you even done the “Filthy Fifty”?

Leave a Reply

