My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I’m Beat!

on February 18, 2013

Today was a bit of a rough day. Not because of anything that happened today, but because of what happened last night. You may recall that last night I went to see the Bon Jovi concert with some girlfriends. Well, we had a VERY good time! Here are just a few shots from the night…

20130218-210016.jpg
We sang, we danced, we drank…we had a great time! Too good of a time! We were up late and I paid for it a bit today. I was so tired all day.

Just to make my day even more of a challenge, I had a 1pm CrossFit class. Most days when I go to CrossFit I’m nervous. Today I was my usual nerves about the class, plus extra nerves wondering if I would survive given the fact that I was less than 100%. Today’s WOD was a 5 minute AMRAP of Squat Cleans & Jerk. I got to the box early (because I’m too afraid to be late and get penalty burpees!), and I watched the class before mine do the WOD. It scared the crap out of me watching everyone do the workout. It looked like 5 minutes of hell.

When it was time for my class, we started with rowing mixed with squats, push-ups, and sit-ups. We did some other warm ups and then started breaking down the moves we would be doing today. This is one of the things that I like most about CrossFit…it doesn’t matter that I have no idea what most of the stuff is that we do in the workouts, they always break it down step by step and build up the move. By the time we got through throw the steps today, I have to say that I am now a squat clean & jerk pro! I didn’t lift much weight (15 pound training bar, plus 10lbs on each side, for 35 lbs total), but I managed to complete 25 cleans and jerks for a total of 50 reps. Hopefully we do these lifts again soon and I can try lifting a bit more.

I must have had a mental lapse last week, since I have signed up to go to class tomorrow morning at 7am! I’m away next weekend and to get my three workouts in this week, Tuesday at 7 was a time that worked. I’ve got an appointment at 9am, so I’m not going into work at the usual time, which makes the 7am class possible. On a regular day it’s not an option, but it works great tomorrow. The only downside is getting up and being ready to workout at 7! Tomorrows workout is:

20130218-223628.jpg
It should be a fun workout considering I can’t do a pull-up or a handstand push-up! I can’t wait to see how they break those down for me!

Now, I am going to watch Californication and then hit the sack. I need to get a good night’s sleep to be ready to face CrossFit bright and early tomorrow morning.

Tomorrow I also get back to eating and cooking clean. I can’t wait to have good dinners and leftovers for lunch!

What’s your favourite clean eating recipe?
Whats your favourite CrossFit lift?

6 responses to “I’m Beat!

  1. jsresults says:

    I’m glad to hear you had a good time! My favorite Crossfit lift = Fran!

    Like

  2. kepotts says:

    Looks like you had a blast, I heard he’s awesome in concert! Since I’ve only been to CF once, I don’t have a “fav” yet, maybe soon 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      We had the best time! We always do. If you like him and get a chance to go see him, do it. They put on a good show. They know exactly who their audience is!

      I don’t really have a “fav” yet either. Just about every workout is something new. It’s terrifying and fun at the same time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

