My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Totally Random Tuesday

on February 19, 2013

Totally random tuesday 2

Happy Tuesday, peeps!

Here are some of the random things going on in my world today.

1.  I hit CrossFit at 7am today.  I had an appointment at 9am this morning, and wasn’t driving into work at my usual time, so scheduled my CrossFit class early in the morning.  This is the first early morning class I have been to.  I’m not sure I like it.  It’s great to get it out of the way early in the day, but it was early to get up and get my butt out the door.  I was so nervous about over-sleeping and being late for class that I woke up around 5am and didn’t really sleep much after that.  Once I got to the box it was all good, and as usual, I had a good class.

Today’s class was:

    • WOD:
    • 30 GHD sit-ups
    • Followed by 4 rounds of:
    • 25 Pull-ups
    • 10 Handstand Push-ups
    • * Time starts when you start the GHD sit-ups

I had no idea what a GHD sit-up was…so as usual, hit YouTube.  Here’s what I found:

I learn something new everyday at CrossFit!  Fun, Fun! 

I did a modified workout, since I hadn’t done GHD Sit-ups before, my coach had me only do 15 instead of the full 30.  For the workout, she modified that as well, having me only do 2 rounds instead of the Rx 4. (Rx means as prescribed, without any modifications).  I needed a band to help me get through the pull-ups, and I did my push-ups elevated on a box rather than in a handstand.  Even with those modifications, it was a killer workout.  I have no upper body strength, so both moves were quite a challenge.  I ache already.
strength

2.  Another reason why I worked out this morning was because I was busy after work…getting a massage!!  All these CrossFit workouts have been torturing my body, so I was really looking forward to this massage….and it did not disappoint…it was awesome.  I went in feeling all hunched and achy, and left feeling taller and all Zen.  Only 3 more weeks until my next one.  I’m already looking forward to it.
massage

3. Tonight I got back to clean eating.  Before running out the door for my massage, I got dinner ready.  I made Clean Eating African Peanut Stew.  I had made this recipe before and figured it would be perfect for tonight, since I could get it ready before I went for my massage.  I was right!  I was a little pressed for time since my massage was moved up from 6:45 to 6pm, but I did it.  I sautéed, chopped and got the stew ready so it could simmer while I enjoyed my massage.  When he got home from work, Hubby made the rice and when I got home all was ready to eat.  Total deliciousness..
african peanut stew

And the best part….7, that’s right…7 leftover meals!
stew leftovers

All in all, today was a pretty good day.  Here’s hoping tomorrow is just as good.

How was your Tuesday.  Hope it was Totally Random!

Leave a Reply

