My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on February 22, 2013

Happy Friday, Peeps!

20130222-071446.jpg
Time for this week’s Friday Five.

1. I am starting my weekend early! Last year I had at least 2 weeks of holidays I wasn’t able to take because I was too busy at work. So this year I decided I would take a few “Me” days here and there throughout the year to make sure this didn’t happen again. Today is one of those days! My son is playing in a hockey tournament with his school’s team, so I took the day off to go watch him play. We didn’t have to be at the rink until 9am, so I even get a bit of a “sleep in” before I needed to get up and get going for the day. BONUS!

20130222-072749.jpg

2. It’s a “Me” weekend, too! I am spending the weekend with my sister and 8 other friends at a Bed & Breakfast near Peterborough for a Scrapbook Retreat.

20130222-074112.jpg
I am so far behind in my scrapping, it isn’t even funny – I am scrapping a cruise that hubby and I took back in January 2010. I am hoping to get lots done this weekend and hopefully keep things going when I get back and work scrap time into my hectic schedule somewhere! Aside from some much needed, uninterrupted scrap time, this weekend will also be relaxing, with lots of laughs and some really great food. The owner of the B&B used to have a catering business in the city and makes the best food EVER! It is not clean, by any means, but it sure tastes good!

3. I still haven’t run a single step in my half marathon training! I seem to have lost my running mojo. It is completely gone. I just can’t bring myself to put on my shoes and go for a run. I have zero desire. This is NOT good since I also only have 10 weeks until Race Day. I’m not sure why I can’t bring myself to run. My last half training went really well and I PR’d the run, so you would think I would want to keep going? But NOPE. No desire to run, at all. Anyone know how I can get my run mojo back?

20130222-091102.jpg

4. Success on the scale! I know I shouldn’t really care about the number on the scale, as long as my jeans fit the way I want them to. I know that, but when the number on the scale is higher than I want it, it makes me mad and frustrated. When I stopped running back in October I managed to maintain my weight for a while, even through the holidays. In January I made me goal of no diet pop and no unhealthy snacks and that was good too. Then February came and things fell apart. I didn’t get around to making my goals and my clean eating wasn’t at its best. I ate crap snacks and ate out for meals too often. The result…8 lbs. it made me so mad. But although the number on the scale was higher, my jeans still fit and I “looked” the same. I wondered if maybe I was getting some muscle with the CrossFit and that might make the scale go up? Who knows why, but today when I got on the scale, it was back to my “happy place”. I weigh myself a couple of days a week first thing in the morning before my shower. I weighed myself on Tuesday and the weight was still there 😦 When I got on today, it was gone 🙂 I actually didn’t believe the number it said so got on and off 3 times. Each time it said the same thing! I did clean up my act and get back on track with my eating, but the number was a shock…a happy shock! Now my goal is to keep it there…or maybe even make it go a few pounds lower!

20130222-092435.jpg

5. Deadlifts and Rows…and Hockey! Deadlifts and Rows was last night’s CrossFit workout. 5×5 deadlifts…which I now know means 5 sets of 5 deadlifts, with each set using heavier weights until the last set if they asked you to lift once more, you couldn’t. Since I have no idea how much I can lift, I started light and just kept adding. I got up to 95lbs, but I know I could have lifted heavier. Next time they said start around there and see how heavy I can go. I felt strong and loved how everything got tight when I lifted. I love CrossFit! After we did the strength training, the WOD was 3x500m rows with rest in between. The amount of rest depended on how fast you rowed. If you took a minute to row, you got a two minute rest. If 2 minutes to row, 4 minutes to rest. Basically double your row time was the amount of recovery you got. It took me 2:04.4 to do the first row. It was tough and I needed every second of my 4:08 recovery. My second row was pretty much the same at 2:04.10. My legs were like jello when I got off the rower for my rest. I am still amazed at how hard 2 minutes can be when you are really pushing yourself. I slowed down a bit for my final row with 2:10 as my time. That last row was killer! I was so happy to be done! Then I got to go home, have a quick bite and head off to hockey. We had a good game and tied 2-2. Despite how tired my legs were when I got off the rowers, they felt great at hockey. Which is good. I was a bit worried about how both CrossFit and hockey on the same night would make me feel, but in the end, it was fine!

20130222-100943.jpg

Now it’s time to watch a bit of hockey and then head home to pack up my scrap stuff before hitting the road for my scrap weekend.

Hope you all had a good week and that the weekend is a great one!
Got anything big lined up?

And if you have any tips for getting my run mojo back, I would love to hear them!
HAPPY WEEKEND!

Leave a Reply

