My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Need To Learn How To Count!

on March 18, 2013

I don’t know why I do this to myself…but once again, it is late, and I’m exhausted. So, this is going to be short and sweet.

Today I got back on track with clean meals…
Delicious Leftover Spicy Corn Chowder for lunch, with Ryvita and laughing cow cheese.

20130318-230545.jpg

Dinner was another new Clean Eating recipe: Broccoli Rabe Linguini. I had never tried broccoli Rabe (apparently also known as rapini) before. It was quickly boiled and then sautéed with garlic and hot pepper flakes before sun-dried tomatoes, white beans, and Kalamata olives were added. This was the “sauce” that the linguini was tossed with. I was tempted to eat the sauce all on its own! Doesn’t it look tasty!

20130318-233001.jpg
The final dish, with the sauce tossed over the linguini was amazing.

20130318-233213.jpg
And in usual clean eating style, I’ve got leftovers! Enough for 3 meals!

After dinner I had a little time to let dinner digest and then it was off to CrossFit for my first WOD in over a week. Tonight the strength move was a 3×5 Back Squat. I hadn’t done a back squat yet, so started light, with just the bar at 35 lbs. Then I added weight until I got to 85 lbs and figured that was enough for my first time!

After this it was onto the WOD, which was Annie. 50-40-30-20-10 double unders and sit-ups. This was a bit of a challenge since I still can’t really do double unders yet. I can pull off a few in a row, but definitely not 50! The modification for this is to do 5 single skips for each double under. This meant that I was doing 250-200-150-100-50 for the skipping and then 50-40-30-20-10 sit-ups in between each skipping set. I’m pretty sure I did the 150 skips and 30 sit-ups round twice! I need to keep better track of my counting! In the end, whatever amount I did took me exactly 15 minutes, and I was exhausted and dripping with sweat when it was over.

After everyone in the class finished the workout (I was happy I wasn’t the last one!), our coach, Ryan, did the workout. His best time on the wall for Annie was 5:28. Watching him do the workout was inspiring. He was smooth and could double under like it was no effort. He was cruising right along and then I think the pressure of everyone watching him got the better of him. He started to flub his double unders and that threw him off a bit. His time was 6:24. Not his best, but still damn impressive! One day I will get my time down there. One day…if I can ever learn to keep track of how many reps I’ve done!

I’m still searching for a quickie half marathon program. I’m psyching myself up to run on the weekend. Fingers crossed!!

How was your day?
Did you try any new, awesome recipes?

How do you keep track of your reps?

9 responses to “I Need To Learn How To Count!

  1. evetheatheist says:

    5 to 1?! That is brutal…Dinner looked divine, however!! Cheers!

    Like

  2. jsresults says:

    Your meals look amazing!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      thanks…i’m having fun in the kitchen! i like trying the new recipes. So far I have only had 1 dud recipe in over a year of experimenting. Another new one on the plan for tonight!

      Like

  3. Your pictures are definitely appetizing! 🙂 It’s calling for me. 🙂 LOL! I wanna just eat my screen right now.

    Like

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Oh those pics have just made me hungry – delicious and nutritious looking food. Don’t suppose you could post some to the UK???

    Like

  5. You’re making me want to try a Crossfit class…and eat what you had for dinner….

    Like

Leave a Reply

