My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Did It!

on March 23, 2013

I went for a run today! As I had planned, I ran home from my son’s hockey game this morning. I wasn’t expecting much out of this run, I just wanted to get it done.

I have to admit, this was not an easy run. During the first kilometre I was having an internal conversation with myself. Here are some of the things that I was saying to myself during that first, horrible kilometre:

  • Why do you do this to yourself?
  • This half marathon is a very bad idea…you will not be ready in time.
  • You can just go get the race kit and skip the actual race.
  • Running SUCKS!
  • You might be able to tell…I didn’t much enjoy that first kilometre! But after that, it did improve slightly. My thoughts were still not the most positive, but I started to think I actually might make it all the way home! In the end, it took me 37:46 to run 5.14km.

    The run broke down like this:

    20130323-225239.jpg
    Km 4 was a rough one, with an uphill climb so I allowed myself to walk the hill, which made for a pretty bad pace, but I’m pretty happy with the 3rd km….that is race pace for me! Overall, although I did not break any land-speed records, and I was not able to run the whole 5k, I was pretty happy with my run. It didn’t suck as much as I thought it would!

    I wore my Polar heart rate monitor for the run. I’m not exactly sure what my target heart rate is supposed to be, but I’m pretty sure it’s not supposed to be as high as mine was during the run. Also, there were no fat burning minutes, which is a first for me while wearing the HRM. I was impressed that both my HRM and Run Keeper both had the same calorie burn (although I forgot to start my HRM right away so the times don’t exactly match).

    20130323-230234.jpg

    I was smiling at the end of the run, which is a good thing I guess! I’m not sure if I’m smiling because I was happy with the run, or if I’m just happy it was over!

    20130323-231024.jpg

    The rest of my day was spent watching my other son’s hockey game, shopping for some workout clothes, and making another new Clean Eating recipe. Tonight I made Pork Chops with Peppers, Onions, and Olives. This recipe was easy and quite good. It also made enough for a couple of leftover meals!

    20130323-231841.jpg

    Tomorrow I’ve got kid’s hockey at 9am and again at 2:15pm. The plan is to go for another run between hockey games. I also need to do meal and snack planning for the week. My workouts are already planned with 3 CrossFit classes, 2 hockey games, and at least 2 runs.

    I better get to bed so I’m ready to get up and cheer at hockey. We need to win to guarantee we make championship weekend.

    Goodnight, all. Hope your Saturday was a good one.
    Did you run today? How did it go?

    7 responses to “I Did It!

    1. I am running a 10k race in the morning — totally not trained for this as its so early in the spring. It’s going to be in the 30’s and frosty–brrrrrrr! I’m just hoping for a good energy day so I can make the distance. I’m sure I’ll be questioning my sanity as I start out on this little journey. Wish me luck. That which does not kill us makes us stronger, right?

      Like

    2. kepotts says:

      Awesome work on the run! Every run counts ๐Ÿ˜‰ I didn’t run yesterday but did the stairmill, that thing is brutal. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

      Like

      • cathyo says:

        Thanks! It was tough but I’m bald I did it. Actually ran the same route today and it felt much better. I’ve never done the stair mill but it looks wicked!

        Like

    3. Yay! Awesome!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t run today. I did Pilates and I’m so sore right now! Goodluck with your training!!!
      I still can’t get over your video last friday about the class instructor. That’s just hilarious. ๐Ÿ™‚

      By the way, I nominated you for Liebster Blog award. Check it here –> http://athletewithinja.wordpress.com/2013/03/24/long-over-due-liebster-award/

      Thanks!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • cathyo says:

        I’ve never officially done Pilates. I did a tape in my living room with my hubby and sister a couple of times a LONG time ago, but we didn’t last long. I do remember being sore after…at least you know it’s working!

        That video cracks me up! I’m amazed no one in the classes just busted out laughing!

        Thanks so much for the Liebster nomination! I’m honored! like you, with yours, I may need a bit of time to write my post about it. Hopefully this long weekend I will,have a chance.

        Thanks again!

        Like

    Leave a Reply

