My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

April Goals

on April 2, 2013

I”m a day late with my April goals, but at least it’s only a day.  I never actually got around to writing my goal post for March at all!

My goals for the month are nothing way out there…just a few things that I’d like to be focused on to keep me on track.

So, without further ado….I give you my April goals!

  1. Track my food and exercise with MyFitnessPal.  I used to be right on top of this, but at some point, started to slack off and then quit all together.  My goal is to record every single thing that I eat.  EVERYTHING!  Even the crap.  I’m not going to feel guilty about eating things, but I want to be accountable and want to see just how much I am eating.
    mfp
  2. Continue with my 3 CrossFit workouts a week.  I’m pretty sure this is one goal that will happen for sure, but I figured I would write it down anyways.  I am paying for a 3 visit per week CrossFit membership and it isn’t cheap, so there is no way I will miss a workout.  Plus, I love it!  I book my workouts for the week on the weekend and then build the rest of my week around them. So far, this has been working quite well, so I’m excited to keep it going for April.
    CNC logo
  3. Practice Double Unders twice a week.  Double unders are another CrossFit move that I am not very good at.  They are however, something that I think I could get good at with a little bit of practice.  I know how to skip, now I just need to get better and master the double under.  I am going to practice my double unders twice a week.  My son has a skipping rope that he got from his school when he took part in Jump Rope for Heart.  It’s not the best rope but for now it will do. I figure if I jump for 10-15 minutes a couple of times a week, I should improve.  I started tonight.  Here’s the proof. 
    First double under practice

    While I still have a long way to go, I made some progress today.  From only being able to do 1 at a time, I got to 6 or 7 in this video, but before we started taping, I got up to 11!  My goal is to be able to do 20 unbroken by the end of April.  And eventually I would love to be able to crank out 90 straight like Kristan Clever did in the Open 13.3 head to head workout on announcement night.  Skip to 30:29 to see her kill it. 
    http://games.crossfit.com/video/open-workout-133-archived-live-announcement-footage

  4. Practice kipping Pull-ups once a week.  I’m not sure exactly how I am going to do this one.  I have a pull up bar that goes over a door frame, but I’m not sure I can kip with it.  I may have to get hubby to figure out how we can put a permanent bar up in the basement.  I will see what I can find in the way of pull up bars online and then see what we can do.  I’ve been watching the instructional video that I found and I’m pumped to try these again. 
  5. Do one Kettlebell workout a week.  Since I have taken training for the half off my list of things to do, I no longer have to fit running into my schedule.  My hockey season is also finished (aside from our end of season tourney this weekend…more on that in another post later this week), so this frees up another night for me. That gives me lots of free tie to fit in a kettlebell workout.  I will either do a straight swing workout or hit Fitness Blender for a workout video to follow along with.  Just after Christmas I was using my kettlebells quite regularly.  Since I joined CrossFit I haven’t used them too often.  I enjoy kettlebell and it is such a great workout, so I’m looking forward to getting back into it.

    my kettlebells

  6. Continue to meal plan and cook clean dinners.  I have been doing fairly well with my clean eating dinners lately.  Meal planning and grocery shopping on Sundays has been working very well for me.  We have been eating delicious, healthy dinners and I have been having awesome leftover lunches.  My breakfasts could be better, but I’m not going to worry too much about that.  Mornings around our house in the morning are pretty hectic, so I’m happy to just get out of the house on time.  I eat at work and microwave eggs on a bagel with cheese are my go to breakfast.  I will try to make some overnight oats again but I’m happy with my bagel sandwiches, so I’m okay if that’s all I can manage right now. 

eat-clean-train-dirty

These will be my main focus for the month.  Fingers crossed I’m able to stay on track with all of them throughout the month. 

Have you set your goals for April? 

6 responses to “April Goals

  1. Goodluck with your goals! 🙂

    Like

  2. drinkrunyoga says:

    I’m with you with the MFP!! You stay on track for a few days, have an indulgence, don’t track, then stop tracking. Bad habits die hard. Good luck!!

    Like

  3. Great goals. Do you like that meal tracking app? I’m trying to find a good one.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I like it. it’s free so worth checking out. The database really is great for food and exercise. i just need to use it! being lazy and not entering everything. need to get back on that this week too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

