My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Double Unders Are a Tough Sport!

on April 3, 2013

Happy Hump Day!

We are the downward part of the week and heading for the weekend.  Wohoo!!!

Today was another insane day at work.  The best part of being this busy is that the days just fly by.

With work being so crazy, I was really looking forward to hitting CrossFit tonight.  Nothing like heading to the Box, lifting heavy things and doing other things that push me to my limits every time I walk in the door.  I love it!

lift heavy

Tonight’s WOD included a 15 minute strength session to get to a 3 rep max bench press.  This was my first night of bench presses.  Our coach gave us newbies a brief intro session about how to bench press.  Eyes lines up under the bar, hands not too wide, and push your heals into the ground and squeeze your butt.  Lots of people think that a bench press is just upper body, but apparently if done correctly, it is a total body move when you engage your legs and butt!

After learning the proper form, we got right to it.  I started with the empty 35 lb bar to ensure proper form, and then we added 20 lbs to get us going.  55 lbs was a piece of cake. The group that I was working with decided we should add another 20 lbs, to get to 75lbs.  I was the first one to try this weight and pushed out 3 reps, no problem.  Then the other girls took their turn and neither of them could lift it.  I was shocked that I was the only one who could do that weight – I think they were too!  They each dropped the weights back a bit more and were able to get their 3 reps out.  I decided to try another 10 lbs and see what happened.  I was able to bench the 85 lbs without too much effort.  We ran out of time before I could add anymore weight and see how high I could go.  I’m already looking forward to the next time we do bench press to see how much more I can do!

After our strength work, it was onto he WOD:  5 rounds for time:  15 ring dips, 15 box jumps.  Ring dips are awful and I hadn’t done a box jump yet….it was gonna be fun!  Ring dips just highlight my upper body weakness.  I had to use a purple band and even then they were tough.  The box jump Rx was 24 inches.  Since it was my first time, my coach set me up with a 16 inch box.  I actually liked the box jumps…they were tough, got my heart rate going, but I could do them.  The ring dips just sucked!  I was able to do the 5 rounds in 11:20.  Not great, but not bad considering I had such a hard time with those damn ring dips.  Hopefully one of these days all of this upper body arm stuff becomes easier for me.

When I got home from CrossFit, I headed down to the basement to do a few minutes of double under practice.  On my first try, I cranked out 9 in a row!  I was super pumped!  I kept going and was able to get 5 or 6 in a row just about every time.  I did 10 in a row, 11, 12, and my best was 16!  I only skipped for about 5 minutes, but was very happy with my results.  One thing that I was not happy about was the beating my body took in that brief 5 minutes.  My arms and legs are slashed and there is something about the rope that I’m using that whips the knuckles when I miss, especially on my right hand.  I’ve got quite a nice bruise on my hand.  It’s a bit tender!

photo

I’m back at the Box tomorrow night for my third workout of the week.  I need to squeeze it in before I go away for the weekend.  I’m not sure what the WOD will be.  Normally they post the workout the day before so you can get psyched for it, or if you are new like me, hit Google and see what the heck all these crazy moves are!  They will create tomorrow’s workout soon and will make sure it isn’t anything that will conflict with the Open 13.5 workout.  13.5 is the final Open workout and as usual, it looks insane!  Fran on crack.  15-15 Thrusters and Chest to Bar Pull-ups, with a 4 minute time limit.  But, if you get 90 reps (3 rounds) done in the 4 minutes, you get a bonus 4 minutes to do it again..and so on, and so on.  Insane.  Click here, to see Julie Foucher give a video demo.

Are you competing in the Open? Are you ready for 13.5?

Leave a Reply

