My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Eat Clean, Train Dirty

on April 11, 2013

You hear it all the time.

20130411-221444.jpg
Today I managed to do both of these!

Other than starting my day with a grande Chai Latte – which was a special request from my son for our drive to work/school – the rest of my day was perfectly clean. Breakfast was 2 microwave scrambled eggs with some cheese. Normally I have my eggs in a bagel sandwich, but today I didn’t have the bagel since I had the chai latte. Lunch was delicious leftover spaghetti carbonara. Let me tell you, it was just as good today as it was last night for dinner.

20130411-222228.jpg
Dinner was another leftover meal…this time, leftover chunky curry soup. Tonight I kicked it up a notch with a little Sriracha sauce. This was a nice light meal that I enjoyed after CrossFit.

20130411-222651.jpg

With a dark chocolate date bar as an afternoon snack and an apple for dessert tonight, today was a clean eating success!

With the “Eat clean” portion of the equation taken care of, all that was left was the “Train dirty” part! And that was taken care of with a visit to CrossFit! Before I get into today’s WOD, I want to show you the present that yesterday’s WOD gave me:

20130411-223748.jpg
Can you tell where the bar was hitting me during last night’s push presses? Right where that lovely little bruise is! It’s a bit tender, but not too bad. I wear it as a a badge of CrossFit honor!

Tonight’s WOD was 3×5 back squats for the strength move, followed by 6 rounds of 1 minute on, one minute off, kettlebell swings. You had to do 30 swings in the minute or you would get a 1000m row penalty for each round with less than 30 swings in the minute.

We did back squats just a couple of weeks ago. In that WOD, I managed to get up to 85 pounds. Tonight, I did 85 no problem, did 95 no problem, and managed 4 squats with 100lbs. I started the 5th and final squat…got down nice and low…and got stuck! I couldn’t get back up! It was a bit embarrassing, but I was still happy because I hit a new PR!

20130411-225459.jpg
After I got stuck at the bottom, the coaches thought they should show us how to bail on a back squat and also how to spot the back squat. So at least I learned a few more things tonight!

After the back squats, we moved into the kettlebell portion of the WOD. I was a bit worried about this part, since when I got to the Box tonight, there were 6 people from the class before rowing! That meant they didn’t get 30 swings done in the minute. The guys on the rowers were all good crossfitters and if they couldn’t get it done, how was I supposed to? Savannah, our coach tonight, suggested we use a bell one below what we normally use since there were a lot of swings coming up. I think she took pity on us because it was a fundamentals class and we are all still fairly new to CrossFit. Using a lighter bell saved me – I used the pink 8kg (or 18lb) kettlebell and was able to get all of my 30 swings done each round. Thank God! I really did not want to have to row. A couple of people did incur penalties, but in the end, they didn’t have to do the row…they were all very happy about that!

After CrossFit I came home and went downstairs to practice my double unders. I only skipped for a few minutes, and after a rough start, I managed to get 14 in a row a couple of times. Not as good as my high of 16, but not too bad, I think I need to get a better rope…or at least a longer one since I don’t have much handle to hang onto when I skip since I’m trying to make the rope as long as possible. Maybe this weekend I can find a good speed rope.

20130411-231126.jpg

Tomorrow is Friday….YAY…and it is a day off from the Box for me. I can’t wait to sit on the couch and just relax tomorrow night. It’s been a busy week and I’m looking forward to a nice relaxing weekend!

Here’s hoping tomorrow flies by!

Have you had any CrossFit war wounds!

7 responses to “Eat Clean, Train Dirty

  1. evetheatheist says:

    Excellent bruises!!!!

    Like

  2. Cassy says:

    Wow! Sounds like a very successful kick arse day!

    Like

  3. nicolemkurz says:

    Congrats on the back squat PR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

