My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

A New Pursuit

on April 18, 2013

Happy Thursday, everyone!  One more day to get through and we are into the weekend!

I’m starting my day bright and early tomorrow with a 7am CrossFit class.  I need to get my WOD done early in the day, since I’m playing in a hockey tournament this weekend and we have a game Friday night, so I can’t get to the Box after work.  I just don’t think I would have much left in the tank to play hockey after doing a CrossFit class only a few hours before.  So, to be safe, it is 7am class for me.

The WOD tomorrow is 15-12-9 Overhead Squats and Ring Dips with an 8 minute cap.  I haven’t done an overhead squat yet, so of course, I headed to YouTube to see what the move looked like.  It looks okay – basically a squat with the bar held overhead (kind of just like it sounds!), I’m just not sure I will be able to do it Rx at 95lbs, so I will likely have to scale it.  Ring Dips are not my favourite.  Hopefully I will be able to use a thinner band this time – I used a slightly thinner band for my pull ups earlier this week, so maybe I can do the same for ring dips.  Fingers crossed!

stronger

Lately my diet has been less than ideal.  I’ve been doing okay with my main meals, but my snacking between meals was getting pretty bad.  To help get me out of this food funk, I have decided to try a 30 day cleanse.

My sister is doing it and is feeling great, sleeping better, has more energy, and lost inches and a few pounds.  So, based on her feedback and recommendation, I am trying Isagenix.  As I mentioned, I am doing the 30 Day Cleansing and Fat Burning System.

isagenix package

I started my 30 days yesterday.  I wasn’t too sure how I was going to feel, replacing meals with shakes for breakfast and lunch, but it wasn’t that bad.  Today I did my first “cleanse” day, so I only had the cleanse juice and the Isagenix snacks.  I was very nervous about today and how I would feel with no “real” food, but it actually wasn’t too bad.  I was worried about feeling hungry all day, but I didn’t really feel hungry at all.  I was starting to feel a bit hungry and then realized that it was tie for my next snack.  Once I had the IsaDelights chocolates, I felt fine.  And it’s almost like having a chocolate treat, so that’s a bonus.

I took some measurements yesterday before starting and will re-measure each week.  I’m hoping to see some real progress.  Today I took some “before” pictures – which I will NOT be sharing! – and will just file them away to compare with the “after” pictures that I will take at the end of the cleanse.

Hopefully this cleanse, combined with my 3 weekly CrossFit classes and ball hockey which starts next week, will result in some big changes in the way my body looks.  I’m not too concerned with the number on the scale, but I really want to tone things up and get rid of the fat.  I’m looking forward to the next 30 days.  I’m not going to write about it everyday as I’m sure no one really wants to hear about another shake!  I will give weekly progress updates and maybe a few notes here and there if something big happens.

One other thing that I’ve been doing this week is actually going to bed earlier.  I am probably getting at least an extra hour each night and some nights even more.  I’m loving it.  I am sleeping like a rock and staying asleep right through the night.  Hopefully I can keep this trend up.

sleep is awesome

So, in hopes of getting to bed at a decent hour, I’m going to wrap it up and hit the hay.  I need a good night’s sleep to be ready to kick it at the Box bright and early tomorrow morning.

Sweet dreams!

Have you tried Isagenix or another cleanse program?

6 responses to “A New Pursuit

  1. evetheatheist says:

    Good luck on the cleanse…I have thought about this and then going into a Paleo Diet…I will be reading to see how you’re doing!! You’re inspiring, Woman!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. That’s nice that you are doing the cleanse. My husband and I just started juicing. So let’s see how this thing goes.
    Goodluck!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I’ve never done a “hard core” cleanse like this before. I’ve done a more natural one where I just removed certain food from my diet and was really restrictive in what i ate for 3 weeks. So far i’m going okay…surprisingly not really hungry, so that’s good! Will keep you posted on progress weekly.

      Like

  3. It’s good you are getting more sleep. I need to do that!

    I’ve done cleanse diets before and they are tough. The good news is that they work while you are on them. The bad news for me personally was that I gained the weight back after I finished the cleanse and returned to solids again.

    When the diet is done you might want to try what I’m eating now and see how you feel. Fruit when you first wake up (1 cup citrus, berries, or apple) and then 6 mini meals with a good mix of lean protein (3-4 oz. chicken, turkey, egg whites, fish) whole grain carbs (1/2 cup brown rice, oatmeal, quinoa) vegetables (1-2 cups green beans, asparagus, spinach) and healthy fats (6 almonds, 1/4 avocado and/or 1 tsp olive oil on your salad) so your blood sugar stays more constant throughout the day.

    Good luck whatever your meal plan 🙂

    Lisa

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Yeah, I just got stalled at this point and not seeing any progress. Hopefully this will just get things moving in the right direction again and then sticking to clean eating and continuing CrossFit and ball hockey and golf, I can keep it going! Fingers crossed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

