My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Working Towards A Cleaner Me

on April 25, 2013

As you know, I have been trying to eat clean for the past year.  For the most part, I have been successful and clean eating has become a part of my everyday lifestyle.  Of course, over the year there have been a few less than perfect days and even weeks, but overall I am quite happy with my clean eating.

In February I changed up my workout routine by joining CrossFit.  Every WOD is different and all of them challenge me and push my limits.  There are days when I am as scared as hell to walk in the Box, but once the workout starts, I am totally focused and have pushed myself to do things I really didn’t think I could do. I am getting better at the moves/lifts and getting stronger every day.  I still have a long way to go, and I look forward to pushing myself every time I walk in the Box.

push limits

Despite eating (fairly) well, and working out, I have not been seeing the changes in my body shape or the numbers of the scale that I was hoping for.  I’m not hung up about the scale, but I have been working hard and it would be nice to “see” some results.  I will admit that my clothes are fitting better, so things are changing.  The changes just seem to be really slow.

I’m pretty sure this lag in results is due to the times when I cave to my cravings or just get lazy and eat crap.  I can feel when I don’t eat well.  I have less energy and don’t sleep well. 

To give things a little kick, I decided to do a 30 day cleanse.  My sister recommended it.  She was doing it and was feeling great and she thought it would be a good thing for me to try.  So, for 30 days I’m doing the Isagenix 30 Day Cleanse and Fat Burning System. 
isagenix 30 day

I started a little over a week ago.  My schedule has been as follows:

Most days, my Breakfast and Lunch are meal replacement protein shakes:
bf l shakes

I’ve been mixing 1 scoop of vanilla with 1 scoop of chocolate since I’ve been told the chocolate is a little strong on it’s own.  At first I wasn’t too crazy about the taste of the shakes, but once I started adding a few more ice cubes, and the shakes were nice and thick, creamy and cold, they are actually pretty good.  I’m also happy to say that they keep me satisfied until it’s time for a snack.

There are a few snack options within the cleanse program. 
isa snacks options

IsaDelights are green tea infused chocolates.  They are actually pretty good.  IsaSnacks, which they refer to as chocolate wafers, seem almost like compressed shake powder.  They took me a little while to get used to, but they are okay and seem to do the job and fill me up between shakes.  They sent along a sample pack with my cleanse which included 3 bars.  I haven’t tried any of the bars yet, but I’m told they are pretty good. 

Each shake day, before breakfast, I take a scoop of “Ionix Supreme” mixed with a little water.  This is supposed to help your body deal with stress, while supporting “mental and physical performance”.  I find this little concoction a little sweet, but it’s an easy chug, so over fairly quickly!
isa supreme

On shake days, I’m allowed one 400-600 calorie meal.  Most days I use this for dinner and my clean eating meals are fitting within the calorie allowance perfectly.  I look forward to my dinners every day. 

For four days during the 30 day cleanse period – I am doing one day each week – we are supposed to do “cleanse” days.  These are days when no “real” food is consumed, but cleansing juice is drank throughout the day. 
isa cleanse

On cleanse days the schedule has be eating/drinking something every few hours.  I start with 4oz of the cleanse juice (which tastes pretty good…very berry-like), then a few hours later I have 2 IsaDelight chocolates and a couple of snack wafers.  Then it alternates between cleanse juice and snacks throughout the day.  I just did my second cleanse day today.  I thought I would be very hungry on cleanse days, but surprisingly, I’m actually not that hungry.  Most of the time, when I do start feeling hungry, it is time for my next shake, snack, or juice drink. 

A few more things came with the cleanse, but I haven’t used them yet:
isa others

The one on the left is some sort of energy shot.  I have two of these, but I’m a bit nervous to take them.  I’ve never tried an energy drink of any kind before, let alone an energy shot.  If I have a very busy day coming up, I might try it, but I doubt it.  The sticks on the right are sort of like powdered Gatorade-type thing.  4 of these came with the cleanse and 1 more in the sample pack, so I’ve got 5 to use in total.  I will probably use these at some point on days that I have CrossFit for just a little extra energy, because God knows I need all the energy I can muster on CrossFit days!

That pretty much sums it up.  My first 9 days have been pretty good.  I took photos (which will likely not be shared) and measurements before I started.  I’m due to take my second set of measurements on day 11.  I’m looking forward to see if I’ve lost any inches to go along with the weight loss.  I’m pretty sure I will see some progress there…workout pants that I bought just 2 weeks ago are now too big in the waist and I have to pull them up when I’m doing burpees or box jumps.  Good thing they were cheap Joe Fresh pants and not expensive Lululemon pants!  Maybe at the end of all of this I will finally treat myself to a Lulu outfit! 

Tonight turned out to be an unscheduled night at home for me.  We were supposed to go see the school play at my older son’s school, but he didn’t want to stay.  He’d had a long day and just wanted to come home.  I was a little disappointed to not get to see the play, but I was excited to have a free night at home.  With my busy schedule, I don’t get many free nights.  Tomorrow is another free night, but then I’m back to the Box for a 9am CrossFit class on Saturday morning.  I’m looking forward to seeing what the WOD will be and then heading to Google to see what all the moves/lifts involve. 

Tomorrow is Friday.  Fingers crossed the day flies by….come on weekend!

Have you ever done a cleanse?
Did you get the results you were hoping for?

7 responses to “Working Towards A Cleaner Me

  1. I haven’t done a cleanse but did do a detox with fresh juicing. It cleaned out my system and seemed to jump start it. Good luck with the cleanse!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Thanks. It’s that “jump start” that I’m hoping for. So far things are going well. Hopefully the next 20 says go just as smoothly!

      Like

    • cathyo says:

      I’ve never “juiced” anything. Lots of people seem to be doing it tho. I’m j vestiges ting things to keep me on track after the 30 days are over. Might have to look into juicing. Also wondering about Paleo.

      Like

      • I’m a huge fan of juicing and Paleo.. though I can’t cut out of my legumes or dairy for paleo. I think the key is just eating healthy and minimizing processed foods in the diet. I’m currently in my own process of eating healthier.I look forward to your journey.

        Like

  2. If you have any questions on juicing I would love to help if I can.

    Like

  3. […] I am doing the Isagenix cleanse, normally my lunch consists of a protein shake, but since my night is going to be so hectic, I […]

    Like

  4. […] I am 2 weeks and 2 days into my Isagenix cleanse, and feeling great.  I have been doing well with 2 shakes and one healthy, clean meal a day, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

