My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Oh My WOD!

on May 4, 2013

Happy Saturday, everyone!  Hope you have had a great day.

The weather outside was amazing today.  I didn’t really get a chance to enjoy it, as I was inside scrapbooking for pretty much the whole day.  I did get to sit out and enjoy the sun for a couple hours as I met my hubby over at some friends where he was hanging out drinking beer in the sun.

Despite being on my cleanse, I did enjoy a nice, cold Corona, but I passed on the pizza and chicken wings that they had.  Instead, I came home and enjoyed an Isagenix protein shake as my dinner, since I had chicken parmesan and Caesar’s salad for lunch at my scrap event.

So, the main reason for my post is to show the aftermath of yesterday’s WOD.  On paper, it really didn’t seem like that bad of a workout:  It was 200m walking lunges, with dumbbells.  I carried 10lbs in each hand.  Then every 20 lunges, stop and do 5 dumbbell thrusters.  200m walking lunges is once around the building the box is in.  It’s not that far.  BUT…OH MY GOD….doing walking lunges – and full lunges, touching the knee down every time – while carrying weights is tough….REALLY TOUGH.  The first half of the trip around the building wasn’t too bad.  I wasn’t speedy, but I was moving along okay and the thrusters were good.

Then I started to feel it.  I had only had 2 shakes to eat all day before the WOD, and my energy was starting to fade.  I probably should have had a snack before I went to the box, but I just didn’t think about it.  Anyways, things were starting to ache.  My feet even started to hurt – which surprised me.  I kept going, but was getting pretty slow.  People from the class after the one I was in were sitting outside watching people do the WOD and encouraging us all to “keep moving”.  That helped a bit.  At this point I was last in the group.  After I passed them, they went through the box and out the back garage door to watch people finish up.

I continued along, slowly.  Really starting to feel it.  I was maybe 3/4 done and I so wanted to quit, but I didn’t. I kept moving, but very slowly.  I was quite proud that I managed to keep going.  I looked up and saw one of the girls from the next class had come back around to where I was to make sure I was okay.  She was telling me to keep going, one lunge at a time.  Then Ryan, my coach, came and talked me through every step.  He was great.  I really helped to have him there.  I wanted to cry, it was just so tough.  I told him that and he said “nope, not yet.  The only tears you can have are tears of joy when you’re done.”  That made me laugh and gave me a little push to keep moving.

As I got to the last corner of the building, I could see everyone from my class and the next class sitting on the curb waiting for me to finish.  I knew with everyone watching I couldn’t stop.  I charged through my final set of thrusters,  After I did my thrusters Ryan said “throw them down”.  I said “No way, I’m going to finish”.  He then told me that he didn’t want me to quit, he just meant to drop the weights and shake out my arms.  To which I replied “What, you mean I didn’t have to keep the weights up the whole time! F#&K!!!!!!”  To which he quickly answered with “No wonder you’re so tired”.  So with everyone watching and cheering I completed my last 16 lunges to cross the line, and FINALLY threw down my weights!

I’m not sure I have ever been so happy to finish a WOD.  It took me about 22 minutes.  I did note the exact time when I crossed the line, but by the time I got to my WOD book to record my score, I completely forgot what it was!  And the brutality of the WOD didn’t end there…to finish up – and help get the lactic acid out of our legs – we had to run to the stop sign and back, which is about a 500m run.  Ryan told me to just walk around the building since I just finished.  Instead I paired up with another guy in the class who was suffering and we just had a nice slow jog to the stop sign and back.  After that we headed inside the box to spend a few quality minutes with a foam roller.  Man, that hurt, but felt so good.  I rolled a bit more before I went to bed as well, as I was so nervous I wouldn’t be able to walk today!

After the killer WOD, I was so excited to come home and eat dinner.  We were having grilled turkey sausage on a bun.  And after such a torturous workout, I treated my self to 2 of them – for a total of about 600 calories for the meal.  I’m not sure I have ever enjoyed a sausage on a bun more.  So tasty!

I will leave you with a picture collage…these are my knees.  Walking lunges outside do NOT do good things to your knees!
Image

I was surprised that my knees bruised so much today, and they are a bit swollen.  Good thing they get today and tomorrow off to rest before I drag myself back to the Box on Monday, when the WOD will be Nancy – 5 round for time:  400m run, 15 overhead squats.  Man, we seem to be doing a lot of overhead squats lately.  Hopefully my legs (and ass) recover by then so I can survive the squats!

And now, I’m going to sign off and finish watching the Leafs-Bruins game.  It’s 3-1 Leafs with 15 minutes left in the 3rd.  Hopefully they can hold on to equal the series at 1-1 as they had to Toronto for game 3 on Monday.  Go Leafs Go!

go leafs go

11 responses to “Oh My WOD!

  1. evetheatheist says:

    Oh your poor knees!!! That WOD DOES sound killer…way to kill it! Wooo!!!

    Like

  2. j! ayson says:

    OMG.. your poor knees! Okay, I’m definitely scared to start Crossfit! Way to push through and finish! I’m sure if that were me, even with all the people cheering me on, in my head I’d be thinking “oh.. shut up!” hehe.. I love how everyone pushes you to keep going and to stay strong!
    I can’t wait to feel the pain! hehe.. only because the feeling of finishing will be so much better!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      you are going to love it…don’t get me wrong, it is hard and at the time it sucks HUGE…but the sense of accomplishment is the best. I walk in terrified, and walk out exhausted and proud of myself every day! have fun!

      Like

  3. CultFit says:

    Brilliants night in Toronto last night (minus the score of the game)! I hope you were able to take in some of the festivities and atmosphere!?! 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      unfortunately I didn’t get to see a single second of the game last night. 😦 so far the only game I watched they won…guess I better watch Wednesday as they obviously need me watching to play well!

      Like

  4. […] night I was back at the Box for another WOD.  My knees and ass had finally recovered from Friday’s killer WOD, and I was ready to get back at it!  The WOD last night was “Nancy” a benchmark WOD.  […]

    Like

  5. […] May 3: Finishing the WOD – 200m walking lunges with 5 thrusters every 10 lunges. This WOD made me want to cry. It was so […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

