My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

They Are Trying To Kill Me!

on May 13, 2013

Today is the first day for my CrossFit Box in it’s new home.
CFNC logo

CrossFit Newmarket Central moved from a small-ish 2000 square foot space to a brand new, wonderfully large, 9000 square foot space this past weekend.

Over the weekend I followed along on their Facebook page as the posted pics of the progress being made on the new space.  It looks amazing and I can’t wait to see it live and in person tonight for my WOD.

Well, I was super excited to go to class tonight to check out the new, and definitely improved space….until I saw what the WOD is going to be:

filthy_fifty
I’m pretty sure they are trying to kill me on the first day in the new digs!  I’ve never done the Filthy Fifty before, but I’ve heard it’s killer:

filthy fifty

There are just so many moves and so many reps!  Here’s how I’m going to attack it:

  1. Box jumps – should be okay.  I’ve done 20 inch jumps before (I’m pretty sure I’ve done 24 inch jumps before), so I will just try to count them off in sets of 10 and move on!
  2. Jumping pull-ups – I am thanking God these are not regular pull-ups!  Jumping pull-ups give me a fighting chance.  They are still hard for me, but at least I can do them.  50 won’t be fun, but again, hopefully I can crank them out in sets of 10.
  3. Kettlebell swings – 1 pood = 16 kilograms = 35.3 pounds.  I think this is the yellow kettlebell, which I “graduated” to last time we had a WOD that had kettlebells in them.  I’m pretty sure I can get through this one without too much trouble.  I like kettlebell swings, so hopefully this is an easier one to cross off the list!
  4. Walking lunges – 50 is nothing compared to the 200m walking lunges carrying 10lb dumb bells I did in a WOD a few Friday’s ago, so this shouldn’t be too bad…at least its just the lunge, no weights!
  5. Knees to Elbows – UGH…I can’t do these yet, so will be doing either the “knees to boobs” version or the “knees to anywhere” version, depending how much energy I have left after the 200 reps I’ve already done to get to this point of the WOD.  I just hope I don’t rip my hands again.  Last time we did K2E, I ripped my left palm just a tiny bit and it only just finally healed.
  6. 45lb Push Press – I’ve only done these once before and managed to get up to 70lbs, for 1 rep…hopefully in can do 50 with the 45lb bar, or may scale to 35lbs…will see what my coach says.
  7. Back extensions – I haven’t done these before.  No idea how hard or easy 50 of them might be.  Guess I will find out tonight!
  8. Wall balls – I have done wall balls before…lots of them, but never with a 14lb ball.  I think the max I’ve done is 12lbs maybe?  Will have to look back in my WODBook and see.  50 with a 14lb ball towards the end of this workout might just be too much!  Whatever weight I do go with, I will break it down into sets of 10 and try not to set the ball down between sets since that just means I will need to pick it up again.  Instead, I will rest it between my chest and the wall when I take my breaks.  A little trick I learned when watching Kristan Clever do the Open 13.3 on announcement night.
  9. Burpees – I can do burpees, sure, but 50 of them at the end of this is going to be pure hell.  I will try to do sets of 10 and just survive.
  10. Double Unders – I haven’t practiced my double unders in quite a while.  Damn…really wish I had kept that up now!  I think I got to 16 in a row, maybe once.  I will try to do 10 in a row and go from there.

I will post my time when I get home from class.  Wish me luck!
life-is-better-filthy

Have you done the Filthy Fifty?
What was your time?
What move do you find the hardest?

8 responses to “They Are Trying To Kill Me!

  1. MikeW says:

    Take it on gradually!

    Like

  2. leannenalani says:

    Sounds scary but if you pull it off then you’re superhuman! Never done anything like that.

    Like

  3. j! ayson says:

    Okay so most of the time I see the WOD posted and think “can’t be that bad” but omg, this filthy fifty sounds brutal! I don’t even think I could do jumping pull ups or knee to elbows, those sound hard! Love hearing you take on the challenge, it’s very inspiring!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      it’s funny how some WOD’s look okay on paper and then are killer and some that you think will be pure hell aren’t that bad. This was was HELL!

      Like

Leave a Reply

