My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

What a Week!

on May 17, 2013

Wow, this week has just flown by…and I’ve been super busy.

Here’s what’s been going on in my world.

Monday:  CrossFit WOD…the Filthy Fifty.  Wow, what a WOD.  You can read all about the torture here

Tuesday: Golf! This was my second league night of the year, and despite being a bit on the cool side temperature-wise, I had a great night out on the course.  My driver was working, I had decent second shots (which often give me a bit of trouble), and I felt confident when I stepped up to the ball to make each shot.  I only had one really bad hole (an 8 on a par 4 –ugh!), but other than that, I played a decent round…for me at least! Here’s how my scorecard looked:

Hole

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

OUT
Par

4

3

4

4

4

5

5

3

4

36

Me

6

4

6

6

8

6

7

3

6

52

While some people would not be pleased with a 52, I am thrilled.  This was my second best night on the course ever…and only 2 shots away from my goal of shooting a 50 this season.  Hopefully I keep it up for the rest of the season.  I’m confident that 50 is within my sights this year…I will get it, I know I will!

I was supposed to play ball hockey Tuesday night, after golf, but my stomach was a bit off and it didn’t seem like a great idea to go run around when things were so unsettled!

Wednesday:    Both Jack and I had ball hockey Wednesday night.  He played at 8 at one rink and I played at 9 at a rink across town.  Before we all headed out (Nick was going out as well to babysit for my sister so she could go teach her body attack class), I whipped up a quick clean eating dinner of Spinach and Spiced Chick Peas.  Yum!
photo (15)

After dinner, we all headed out the door.  Hubs dropped Nick off to babysit and Jack and I headed to the rink for his game.  He really loves it, and I love watching him play.  He runs his little heart out there and gives all he’s got every shift.  He usually plays defense in his regular hockey, but in ball hockey, he gets a chance to play all positions and is really enjoying playing forward.  He seems to like taking shots!  I they were tied when I left, but in the end, Jacko’s team lost.  He was a bit disappointed but said he still had fun.

I was able to watch most of his game, but missed the last 5 minutes or so as I had to leave to drive across town for my own game.  I was glad to be feeling better and able to go run around, sweat like crazy and have fun!  We tied our game 1-1.  I got our team’s goal! 

Thursday: Tonight I was back to the Box.  Here’s what the WOD:
May 16 WOD

This was another night with a new movement.  I hadn’t done a rope climb yet.  Seems like I wasn’t alone in that, as when Andrew (our coach) asked who had done it before, the gym went silent!  He gave us a few very quick tips about how to wrap the rope around our leg, trap the rope between our feet, stand up tall, and pull up our legs and do it all again….and then we were off.

I was the first one in my pair to try.  I probably got about half way up the rope and then I got a bit freaked out about the height and came back down.  I tried a couple more times, but didn’t make it to the top of the rope Sad smile  Once I felt pretty good and had a good rhythm going, but just couldn’t get up there.  I kept trying to tell my legs to move up the rope, but they just wouldn’t move.  Oh well, I will get it next time.  And, hopefully by the time we do rope climbs again, the rope burn on my leg heals up!  It is a bit shredded.  I’ve dosed it with antibiotic ointment, so hopefully it heals up quickly.

Once we finished the rope climb, it was right into the WOD…a long one, at 20 minutes.  For the pull-ups, I used a purple and black band for part but added a red as well for most of the WOD…I just can’t do pull-ups yet.  Although I did do a bit better tonight, and seemed to get a little kip into the pull-up, which made them easier.  I used a 25lb KB and did the 20 inch box jump.  The pull-ups really slowed me down.  In the end, I finished 6 full rounds, plus the pull-ups, swings and 8 box jumps, for 206 total reps.  Not sure if that is good or bad, but it sure made me tired!  I have to say, I like box jumps.  I’m pretty good at them and was able to crank through 12 in a row each round.  I’m not able to do the jump up, jump down, spring back up motion yet, but I jump up and step down and jump right back up.  One day I will try the jump up, jump down, spring back up and see how it goes….one day!

My class wasn’t until 8:30 tonight, so I had lots of time to make a good, clean eating dinner.  I wasn’t too sure what dinner would be when I left for work this morning.  On our drive to school/work Nick asked what dinner was going to be.  I told him I wasn’t sure and he asked if I could make the “pasta with the white beans and feta”.  I knew exactly the dish he meant, and thought it was a fantastic choice.  It is quick and absolutely delicious!  The official recipe is called Mediterranean Vegetable, White Bean & Feta Penne.  See here for recipe….and give it a try.  It really is good!
photo (16)

I gotta say, the fact that my kid requests a clean eating dinner makes me quite happy. Smile

Tomorrow:   is Friday!  Wohoo!  I’m hoping for a quiet day at work and a quick drive home when I pick the kids up from school right at 3:30.  It’s the May 24 long weekend, so traffic will likely be heavier than usual as everyone skips town early and heads north to cottage country.  We will be heading to the cottage as well, but before we go, I’ve got a 5pm CrossFit class to do.  The WOD tomorrow is a lot of overhead work:
may 17 WOD

I wasn’t doing CrossFit yet back in January when they did the WOD before, so I don’t have a base score to compare to.  I’ve got my wrist wraps now, so hopefully I will be able to add some pounds to my overhead squat.  I’m not sure I will be able to Rx the Met Con WOD, but I will see…I will give it my best shot.

While writing this post, I got caught up on all of my recorded TV.  I watched How I Met Your Mother from Monday night, Grey’s Anatomy from tonight, and The Big Bang Theory from tonight too.  Now, it’s late…really late (12:30) and I need to go to bed.  I need a good sleep so I’ve got enough energy to make it though CrossFit tomorrow!

Have you done a rope climb?  Did it shred your leg?  I may need to get myself a pair of kick ass socks from TheSoxBox so I can save my legs from any more CrossFit abuse! 
soxbox

Goodnight!

7 responses to “What a Week!

  1. iwillrunforbacon says:

    I swear by awesome socks…I have several badass pairs (fav are my batman with cape socks, 2nd my screaming mismatched “Beer & Bacon” socks). Love reading your little one was requesting some healthy eats!! Good Mama!! Keep up the awesome, Cath!!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I definitely need to get some socks. My leg is a mess. Just in time for shorts weather! I’m pretty lucky with my guys…they are good eaters and like all he clean eating recipes.

      Like

  2. kepotts says:

    Wow, you have had a super-busy week! Nice work on some kickbutt workouts and some nice eats. The chickpea salad looks right up my alley!

    Like

  3. leannenalani says:

    You have a lot going on in your life! Oh, the dreaded rope climb. You achieved far more than I could imagine doing. Happy weekend!

    Like

  4. j! ayson says:

    They actually just put the rope up where I go. No ones mentioned whether the place is called the box so I’m not sure if that’s one of the differences with traditional Crossfit. Guess what? Although I still feel alot of anxiety, I’m looking forward to the next class.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      If you do rope climbs definitely wear some long socks! My leg is nasty! I’m such a bad ass! LOL!!! Have fun at your next WOD. Can’t wait to read all about it. Happy weekend! 😃☀

      Like

Leave a Reply

