My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

2 More!

on May 27, 2013

Monday is over and I’ve only got 2 more days until my super fun, extra long, golf weekend with the girls is here – wohoo!!!

Today was a super busy day at work (which seems to be the norm these days), but this made the day fly by.  I was excited to get home from work and cook up dinner…since I did my food prep last night, all that was left to do was grill up the turkey zucchini burgers.  These things are so good!
photo (15)

Tonight there were 2 of us who chose to go the “slider” route – hubs and Jacko, and Nick and I went the stuffed pita route.  Both ways were absolutely delicious!  The best part…
photo (16)

…lots of leftovers.  I’ve got 2 lunches packed with all the fixings:  burgers, feta, cucumber/tomato salsa, tahini sauce and some tzitziki.  Plus, there are another 4 burgers left for snacks or a quick meal for Rory and the boys one night this week.  Man, I love leftovers!

Tonight, I was back at the box for a good workout.  Tonight’s WOD was Ryan:
5 rounds for time:
7 muscle ups
21 burpees

So, I wasn’t sure how this was going to go, since I can’t do a muscle up.  I can’t do a pull up yet, there’s no way in hell I can do a muscle up!  After a good warm up of 400m run, broad jumps, inch worms, hurdles, lunges and some dislocators, we worked on practicing our kipping – working on fully opening and then closing up our shoulders to get a full range of motion with the kip.  I actually got a bit of a feel for he kip tonight..finally!  Now I need to keep working on it so I don’t forget how it felt.  Hopefully I will get some time this week to head down to the basement and practice kips with Jacko.  After the kipping practice, we worked on the “muscle up progression”.  This is a move where you can work on the mechanics of the muscle up when you can’t yet to a muscle up. 

Muscle up progression.

We worked on this for maybe 10 minutes or so, and then got right into the WOD.  We had the choice of doing the muscle up progression in place of the muscle ups, or we could do 7 ring dips and 7 pull ups instead…and then onto the burpees.  I did the muscle up progression and I think probably 3/4 of the class did the progression and the rest selected to do the ring dip/pull ups instead.  Even though it wasn’t a full muscle up, it was still a good workout and a challenge…and the burpees were torture, as always!  Too bad I don’t have my “yay burpees” socks yet!  They would have been perfect for tonight!  I finished in 19:33.  Not great, but I was really working in the muscle up progression. 

Tomorrow, I have another busy day at work and then I’ve got my golf league and ball hockey.  No rest for the weary!  And on that note…I am off to bed!

Hope Monday was good to you.
Here’s hoping the next few days just fly by!!!

Are you a member of the Muscle Up Club? 

2 responses to “2 More!

  1. j! ayson says:

    Not part of the muscle up club yet.. I’m still in the foundation Crossfit club, and i think muscle ups start with the strength training, so not sure when I’ll get to try those, but boy they look hard!
    Monday was alright for me, stayed in bed, feeling under the weather. had to cancel my Monday Crossfit class.. BOO! but back at it today.. just hope I have enough energy.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Muscle ups are crazy ass hard! even some of the fittest/strongest people at my box can’t do them. i’ll be happy if I can ever do an unassisted pullup! Hope you feel better. enjoy your CF class today. are you loving it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

