My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I’ve Been A Bad Blogger!

on June 4, 2013

Looking back at my blog, I realize the last post I wrote was on May 30th..and it was actually more like midnight on the 29th that it was posted, so I am approaching a week without a post!  Boy, that’s not great…but I’ve been so busy, first with fun, and then with a work conference, that I just haven’t had a chance.

Even now, I am just between the final speaker session of my conference and our gala dinner and awards night, and don’t have much time, but wanted to get something down so I don’t have as much to catch up on when I finally get back to my normal (crazy) life tomorrow.

So, when last we met, I was about to head to Niagara Falls for The Birdie Open golf tournament with my girlfriends that I used to play slo-pitch with back in the day.  This is what we are all competing for:
IMG_2356[1]

Once again, the Birdie Open was a huge success.  Good friends, good fun, good golf, and lots and lots and lots of laughs!  I did not win Birdie this year, and I’m not sure I ever will, but I sure had fun and played some good (and some not so good) golf.

Here is my weekend, summarized in some pics:

Suzanne is our hostess with the mostest for this weekend of golf and fun.  As always, she made sure we all had a great time.
IMG_2314[1]

Part of how she insures we have a good time, is every year she has some sort of weird alcohol for us to drink.  This year was no exception, but it was more of an eating than drinking thing …check this out:
IMG_2315[1]

That is vanilla flavoured, vodka whipped cream…weird, but yummy!  She also had caramel flavour, and what we initially thought was strawberry, but turned out to be white chocolate mint.  As strawberry it wasn’t very good, but once we realized it was white chocolate mint, it wasn’t too bad.
IMG_2317[1]IMG_2321[1]

Each year, Suzie has gifts for those of us that make the trip to Birdie.  This year, she got us lovely Birdie Open wine glasses with golf related charms.  These were a hit and we used them all weekend for all sorts of bevvies.  Here’s mine with a nice cold Corona in it and a pic of my awesome golf bag charm!
IMG_2339[1]IMG_2341[1]

Friday we played Peninsula Lakes, our favourite course, that we play every year.  It was a perfect day, hot but with a nice breeze, and the golf course was in fantastic shape…and the beer was cold!
IMG_2335[1]IMG_2338[1]

For Birdie, Suzie creates teams that compete for low score.  The team that does not get low score is assigned “Beer Bitch” duties for the night and must get the other team drinks all night and serve them dinner.  I was on the winning team of the day, so was saved from drink duty!  Normally we have Beer Bitch tank tops for the losing team to wear, but Suzie forgot them this year, so instead we went the Sharpie tattoo route – this is Rosanne modeling for us!
IMG_2343[1]

On Saturday we played Thundering Waters, the John Daly designed course.  This was a nice course and all of the staff wore crazy LoudMouth pants or shorts.  Once again the weather was great, sunny with a bit of a breeze, and we had a great day on the course.  I even managed to shoot my best 9 hole score ever, with a 50 on the front 9.  Unfortunately I was not able to keep it going and shot a 58 on the back…still 108 is pretty good score for me.  (I have mentioned many times that I am NOT a good golfer!).  Despite my 50, my team lost the beer bitch competition today, so I was on dinner and drink duty for the night.  We managed to consume a bit more alcohol on Saturday night than Friday, so I was busy serving the winners.  Luckily, they forgot about the Sharpie tattoos that night!

As I mentioned above, I did not win Birdie, but did manage to come 4th, which is pretty good for me!
IMG_2367[1]

Birdie was awarded to Debbie (for the second year in a row) with Janie coming in second, and Rosanne taking third.
IMG_2368[1]

And so ends another fantastic Birdie Open.  I am already looking forward to next year’s tourney.  Hopefully I will get a chance to play with the girls at some point over the summer.  There was talk of a fall Birdie, so we will see if that materializes!

From Birdie, I drove into Niagara Falls for my industry conference.  It was a coincidence that it was so close, and it made for a short 20 minute drive to my hotel.  I won’t bore you with the details of my conference, but I will share the view I have had for the last 3 days…it’s awesome and it never gets old.
IMG_2370[1]

IMG_2400[1]

Sunday night I even got to enjoy fireworks out my window.  They were very good and I was Skyping with hubs and the kids when they started, so I held my iPad out the window and they were able to enjoy the show as well.  I took a few pictures but they didn’t turn out that great.  Here is one of the better ones, but it’s still pretty bad.
IMG_2388[1]

And now I should go get ready for the gala dinner and awards ceremony.  I am exhausted and not sure how long I will last tonight, but I will do my schmooze duties and go make an appearance.  Who knows, it might be fun and the food should be good.

Tomorrow I am driving from Niagara straight to work and then back to reality of catching up with things at the office and then my crazy after work schedule as well.  Jacko has a ball hockey game at 7, I’ve got CrossFit tomorrow night at 8:30, and then my own ball hockey game at 10pm. I hope I survive!

Hope you have had a good last few days.
Have you ever been to Niagara Falls?
Have you ever tried Vodka Whipped Cream?

7 responses to “I’ve Been A Bad Blogger!

  1. losing50laps says:

    Never tried, but looks like a good time!

    Like

  2. Suzie says:

    I’ve had a good last few days.
    I’ve been to Niagara Falls and I’ve tried vodka whipped cream…..yum
    Suzie

    Like

  3. VODKA whipped cream? Hmmm… that’s interesting. Where do you get it? That’ll be awesome for parties. 🙂

    I’ve been to Niagara Falls (Canada side). I tried the Mist Ride, pretty scary but awesome!

    Like

  4. jsresults says:

    I have had a good last few nights. I have been to Niagara Falls and I HAVE tried Whipped Cream Vodka. All three are AWESOME 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

