My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on June 22, 2013

We did it!  We made it to the weekend!!!  And now it’s time for another awesome edition of…
friday-five2

1.  I feel like I got punched in the nose!  I have no idea what happened, but I woke up yesterday morning with a very sore nose.  It feels like I got punched.  I even asked hubs if he happened to punch me in the face while I slept!  (he didn’t!)  It looks okay, but it hurts to touch and it makes a funny noise if I move the cartilage from side to side.  Hopefully it stops hurting soon.  It’s weird!
like a punch in the face

2.  I was back at the box today….and I loved it!  I had originally thought I was going back to CrossFit last night, but I forgot I was having some girlfriends from my MBA class up for dinner last night, so that didn’t happen. Instead, I was there tonight and I will be back tomorrow morning at 9am to finish off my 3 classes for this week.

Tonight’s WOD looked so harmless on paper:
June 21 WOD

Before we even started the WOD, as part of our warm up we did a nice run of 2 laps around the building.  Did I mention how much I hate running now? Well, I do!  I have some sort of weird hip joint/ass thing going on with my left leg, and every step I take running hurts….which makes it not fun to run.  I need to get that checked out at some point, because it gets worse when I play ball hockey and run on the cement floor of the rink, and it’s almost not going way between games anymore.

Anyways, after our 2 laps around the building, we did a fun activity for part of our warm up.  Our Coach, Savannah, decided it would be fun for us to carry the giant tire around the building and at each corner, we would drop and do 5 burpees.  This was kind of fun, and as seems to have become a 5pm Fundamentals tradition, Savannah took a picture of us hard at work.  Here’s today’s shot…I’m the one in the purple shirt on the floor with the burpee!
warm up June 21

After the rest of our warm up, it was onto the Jerks.  This was just the 2nd time that I did a jerk, and I was able to increase by weight by 10lbs since the last time…I could maybe have done more, but my right shoulder felt a little tweaky, and I had hit my 5 sets of 2, so stopped at 65lbs.  Still, I’m pretty happy about that.

From the jerks, we hit the rowers.  We did do a bit of rower technique during the warm up, so we got right to it.  3x500m rows.  Sav told us to go moderate for the first, harder for the 2nd and beat our first time, and then give it all we had for the last 500m to beat row #2.  I was 2:11.1 for my first 500m, 2:07.4 for the second 500m, and 2:08.1 for my last 500m.  That last 500m was killer.  It is amazing how tough rowing is.  I could barely breath by the end of that last row and my legs were on FIRE!  I thought Pukey might make an appearance…thankfully he didn’t!  I was a bit bummed I didn’t beat row 2 on row 3, but I wasn’t far off…and I will get it next time!

3.  I’m golfing twice this weekend!  Tomorrow hubs and I are golfing in a fundraiser tournament put on by the dad of one of my Corona Crusher teammates.  We’ve got a few other Crushers joining us and if the rain holds off (and even if it doesn’t) we should have a great day on the course.  We can still drink beer even if it rains!
corona golf

Sunday it is my Chapter Championships and I will be competing with my scramble team.  The weather is supposed to be questionable on Sunday as well, so I’m doing my Sunshine Dance and praying the golf gods shine down on us.  My team has already qualified for the next round of competition, Sectionals in Ohio in July, as we are the only team that entered the Championships from our Chapter.  So, all we have to do is finish our round and we are off to Ohio….but still, we are hoping to shoot some good golf and finish a few strokes below par.

4.  It’s after midnight, and need to go to bed!  I’m tired and I need to get to bed so I’m ready to tackle tomorrow’s WOD:
WOD june 22

There is no way in hell I will be able to do a 185lb Deadlift, but I will try to do at least 135.  I will have to check my book to see what I got to on my max deadlift last week.

5.  We watched the movie “Money Ball” tonight.  I have had this movie on my computer for quite a while, but never got around to watching it.  When we were deciding to watch a movie tonight, we hit Netflix and just didn’t see anything that we wanted to watch, and I mentioned Money Ball.  Hubs hadn’t seen it yet either, so we were set.  I’m not a big fan of baseball.  I find it very boring to watch, with not much action at all.  Thankfully the movie wasn’t really about the game, but on how to build a winning team.  I really enjoyed it, and it didn’t hurt that Brad Pitt was in it!  He’s easy on the eyes!  If you get a chance, give it a watch.

Brad-Pitt-in-Moneyball
Happy Friday, everyone!

What’s your plan for the weekend?

Whatever you get up to…enjoy!

7 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. kepotts says:

    You are rocking te CrossFit lady, nice work! I haven’t seen Moneyball yet, may need to put it on the list. Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Thanks. Today CrossFit rocked me! Box jump went bad and my shin paid the price. A little beaten and bruised but jumped right back on that damn box! Loved the pic of your lazy dog today! Happy weekend!

      Like

  2. j! ayson says:

    Not too much planned. Crossfit at 10am and then taking the kids to the fair. Crossing fingers that out doesn’t rain!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Have fun at CF. i just got home from another killer WOD. Was fun until I misses a box jump and crashed my shin down the box. OUCH! Another CrossFit war wound that I will wear with pride. . Have fun at the fair. So far the rain has held off here. 🌞

      Like

      • j! ayson says:

        Those box jumps always make me a little nervous. I remember last month when I nearly got my shin really bad. We were on the Air Dyne bikes and followed that with box jumps, and I totally missed the box. Luckily I didn’t get my shin. Wouldn’t have been pretty.

        Like

  3. leannenalani says:

    Crossfit sounds pretty intense! That kind of dedication is impressive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

