My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on June 28, 2013

Helloooooo Friday!  And it’s not just any Friday…its’ the Friday of a long weekend!!!

woohoo

Let’s get to this long weekend version of the Friday Five!

friday-five2

1.  I got a FitBit Flex!

IMG_2661[1]I had my eye on this nifty device for quite a while.  The reviews that I had read were pretty good and at $99 it is a bit better price than the Nike Fuel Band which is around $150. Problem was, it was always on back order.  Finally I found that BestBuy would let you pre-order, so that’s what I did.  It was probably about a month or so ago, and they said I would be the end of June before it shipped.  Then last weekend I got a notice saying it would be further delayed and they gave me a $10 coupon to use next time I made a BestBuy purchase.  I was okay with this, since I knew it was a hot item.  Well, the day after I got the delay notice I got another email saying it had shipped!  It arrived Tuesday and I’ve been wearing it ever since. 
IMG_2683[1]

It says that it works best if you wear it on your non-dominant hand.  For me, this is my left hand, which is also where I wear my watch.  At first I wasn’t sure if I would like wearing both on the same arm, but now that I’ve had it on for a few days, I don’t even notice it. 

So far I’m liking it.  I have silent alarms set – one to wake me up in the morning, one to remind me it’s time to go home from work (since sometimes I’m so busy I don’t notice the time!)  I’m also using the sleep tracking feature and finding it interesting how many times I wake up or am restless in the night.  It also hooks up with my MyFitnessPal account and is able to track calories in versus calories out.  I’m sure there are more things that it can do.  Hopefully this weekend I will get some time to poke around the user manual a bit and learn what other cool things it does.

2.  I signed up for a Harvest Share program.  Harvest Share is a fresh local fruit and vegetable delivery service.  I heard about it though CrossFit, and It works out perfectly since the owners of CrossFit arranged for The Box to be a drop off area.  The fruit and veggie boxes are delivered to CrossFit on Thursdays, so I just pick mine up when I am there for my weekly Thursday night 8:30 class. 

This week’s box was great:
IMG_2692[1]

It included:  kale, red leaf lettuce, orange peppers, tomatoes, cucumber, yellow squash, mushrooms, asparagus, strawberries, and some garlic scapes.  I had no idea what garlic scapes were and had to go to instagram and Google for help!  Turns out they are the tops of the garlic that grow up.  They are harvested usually in June and by removing the scape, the garlic bulbs grow larger – who knew!  Anyways, apparently they are very good and common things to do with them are make pesto, add to stir-fries and soups, or you can sauté or grill them and eat as a tasty side dish.  I think we will try to grill them.  I will let you know how it goes. 

The strawberries last a whole 2 minutes.  We devoured them as soon as I got home…and they were delicious.  Nothing beats fresh Ontario berries!  I can’t wait to eat all the goodies in my basket.

I will be receiving one of these boxes every Thursday.  Can’t wait to see what comes next week!

3.  I saw the funniest video this week.  I was watching Jimmy Kimmel last night and they showed this video of a guy after he had his wisdom teeth out.  I was crying I was laughing so hard.  I hope you enjoy it!

This is hilarious! Enjoy!

4.  I’ve had a great week at CrossFit!  I went to the Box Monday, Thursday, and today.  The WODs were as follows:

wod june 24

My score for this WOD was 29.  Not great, but I made some progress on something that makes me very happy….I progressed to using a purple band for my pull-ups!  We were setting up our areas and the spot I picked already had a purple band there.  I figured what the heck, and gave it a try.  I surprised myself, and could actually do my pull-ups with the purple band!  For me, this was great progress, since up until now I had been using a really thick, really heavy blue or green band.  Dropping down to purple is exciting.  It gives me hope that unassisted pull-ups might be possible!  I’m getting stronger, slowly, but I’m starting to believe it.

wod june 27

I had a good night with this WOD too.  Previously my best deadlift weight was 145 and it was pretty ugly.  It looked ugly and it felt ugly. Thursday I got to 155 and it felt good and my coach said it looked good.  I need to remember to keep my chest up, squeeze my shoulder blades and keep my core tight.  Hopefully I can keep making good progress with the deadlift.  It seems like the one lift that people can lift heavy…hopefully I can too!

After the deadlifts it was onto the WOD…and AMRAP of pull-ups and dumb bell snatches.  I was happy to see the pull-ups and once again I used the purple band (yay me!).  They felt great and I’m really starting to engage my lats well and getting the timing down.  Wohoo!  For the dumb bell snatches – which I love – I used a 15lb dumb bell.  For AMRAP 1, I got 5 rounds plus 3 pull ups.  On the row I got 15 calories in the minute (I was pretty happy with that) and then in the last 5 minute AMRAP I got through 4 rounds plus 5 pull-ups.  That gave me a total score of 203.  I thought that was a not bad score.  Then I checked the board and saw it was one of the best scores of the day.  Of course, I didn’t do it Rx since I used a band and my weight wasn’t that heavy, but still…I actually checked my math a few times to be sure my 203 was right!  It was, and I left the box with a little spring in my step knowing I did well.  Next time I will use a heavier dumb bell and try to do just as well!

wod june 28

Tonight’s CrossFit class was really small…there were 3 of us there…and it was awesome.  We got so much attention from Savannah, our coach, and I made good progress on my overhead squats.  This is a tough lift for me. There is just so much to think about during this lift:  arms locked out, lats pulled down, push the bar up, belly button to core and engage abs…and that’s just of the bar overhead part…you still have to think about all the things that go along with a squat too! 

Before today, my highest OHS lift was 45lbs.  Tonight I got to 60lbs and it felt good!  I’ve still got a long way to go, since I’m not even at the WOD Rx yet, but still, progress is progress!  For the WOD I used 40lbs, which is 5lbs heavier than I’ve used for any WOD before. Baby steps! 

Savannah changed the WOD for us, since we were a fundamentals class and we had a pretty new girl in the class. She also wanted us to be able to go hard for a shorter time rather than suffer through a long workout.  So, she changed it to 10-10-10 from 21-15-9.  This was still tough and the OHS were hard.  I finished in 4:35 and those have to be the sweatiest 4 minutes and 35 seconds ever!  I was dripping…and I loved it! 

Now I’ve got the weekend off, and actually won’t be back at the Box until next Wednesday. 

5.  We are at the cottage for the Long Weekend!  Monday is July 1st, Canada Day, and that means a 3 day weekend!  We are all looking forward to a fun-filled and relaxing weekend. I’m hoping to get caught up on some sleep, read some books, and hopefully enjoy some time in the sun. The forecast isn’t looking that great.  It’s supposed to rain for most of tomorrow, but that just means we have time to lay around and read, nap and chill!  Sunday and Monday are supposed to be a bit better…so fingers crossed.  Please send sunshine vibes my waysunshine

It didn’t take long for the kids to get into cottage mode.  We pulled in the drive way, unloaded our bags and they were down to the dock. 

photo (28)

They absolutely love being at the cottage.  We are all looking forward to a great weekend.

Hope you have a good weekend!
Got any big plans?

Happy Canada Day!
happy canada day

7 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. That fit bit looks super cool! I’m looking forward to hearing all about it!

    Hopefully I will get the chance to try out some crossfit this summer – it sounds so fun!!

    Have fun at the cottage 🙂

    Like

  2. j! ayson says:

    Awesome progress! You will get that unassisted pullup. You’re getting stronger after each WOD, so its just a matter of time. Yay! I haven’t done overhead squats yet, but they do look quite complicated.
    Happy Canada day! We’re hanging out around the house this weekend and then heading to Minneapolis for a few days. Going to miss Crossfit for an entire week, boo!

    Like

  3. losing50laps says:

    GreAt work. I am pumped you got a FitBit – they are awesome. Enjoy the cottage it looks so peaceful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

