My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on October 4, 2013

Another week over…Hello Weekend!  Time for this week’s edition of …

friday-five2

1.  Yesterday’s WOD was killer!  It looks simple enough on paper, but holy crap…this was a rough one:
WOD oct 3

The bench press was good.  I hit a new PR of 90 lbs.  I only managed 3 unassisted reps, but that’s 3 more at that weight than I’ve done before, so I consider that a PR! 

For the Met Con, I decided to go with level 2.  That might have been a mistake, but I wanted to challenge myself. The first few rounds were good.  Managed the 6 burpees and had some decent time left in the minute to get my double unders in.  By the last 3 minutes, I only managed to get the burpees done and had no time to skip before it was time more f’ing burpees.  I was a sweaty mess by the end of 10 minutes.  My score, which was number of double unders completed, was 64.  Not great, but not too bad considering I did level 2, and only managed to skip for 7 of the 10 rounds.. 

burpees-suck

This WOD left me exhausted and I wasn’t sure I would have any juice left for my hockey game, but once I hit the ice I felt good.  My legs are definitely stronger and my cardio is good.  CrossFit is working it’s magic on me…and I love it!

2.  I’m heading back to the Box tonight after work.  Initially I wasn’t going to go tonight, but then I saw tomorrow’s WOD and decide today would be a better day to go.  I must be out of my mind, because this is today’s WOD:
oct 4 wod

That’s right…DOUBLE FRAN! That is going to be nuts!  It’s CrossFit Newmarket Central’s 3rd birthday today, and they decided there would be no better way to celebrate than with Double Fran! 

You might be wondering what would make me pick Double Fran as the better WOD option…well, it’s a WOD with just too much running:
wod oct 5

This is a WOD created by a CFNC member.  Our September Challenge was to create a WOD that required no equipment.  The winning entry would be the WOD that we do tomorrow.  When I saw all the running in this bad boy I had a bit of a panic attack.  I am not a fan of running anymore.  I seriously can’t believe that before CrossFit I ran 6 or 7 half marathons and even a full marathon.  Now I can’t stand it.  I would much rather lift heavy shit!  So, the decision to do Double Fran was actually an easy one.  I’m sure it will be torture, but they have snacks and prizes at the Box today, so maybe I will get lucky and win something…or at least eat something tasty!

3.  I get to sleep in tomorrow!  Now that I am going to CrossFit tonight, I don`t need to get up to go to the Box tomorrow morning.  I can`t tell you how happy that makes me.  Despite getting more sleep than usual these last few weeks – with the Whole Life Challenge lifestyle challenge being 7 hours of sleep a night – I am still pretty bagged in the morning when the alarm goes off.  So being able to just sleep until I wake up on my own will be a treat.  I will likely still wake up early, but even just lying in bed relaxing will be awesome. 
notes-to-sleep

4.  I`m half way through the Whole Life ChallengeToday when I logged on to do my points, it said we are on day 28, with 28 days left.  So far, I am enjoying the challenge.  For the most part, I am eating well and feeling good.  It does take a bit more planning and prep work to be prepared food-wise.  I need to make sure I’ve got leftovers for lunch and healthy snacks that I can grab quickly, but this has been going along well so far.  Hopefully I can keep it up for these next 28 days…which I think will be fairly easy to do, since I`m liking the results I`m seeing.  I`m down about 8 pounds, my clothes are fitting better (my jeans are almost too loose!), and I`m feeling good. 
31932-If-You-Keep-Going-You-Will-See-Results

5.  I found another funny video on the web.  Watch this guy scare the crap out of people working in the drive-thru. 

Some fun in the drive-thru.

Happy Friday and Happy Weekend!

Got any big plans?

5 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. nicolemkurz says:

    Double Fran? DOUBLE? Eff that. No freaking way. Though tomorrow’s workout looks just plain mean as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

