My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on November 1, 2013

Welcome to the first Friday Five of November.  This year is just flying by!

friday-five2

Let’s get right to it!

1.  I survived 100 burpees!  The first part of last night’s WOD was some Clean & Jerk strength work.  I got a new PR of 90 lbs. Last time we did them I only got to 75 lbs, so i was pretty happy to hit 90.  I think I could have even done more, had I more time.  It was all feeling good last night.  Hopefully we do C&J again soon so I can try to get to that magical 100 lb mark. 

After the C&J it was onto the Met Con portion of the WOD.  100 burpees!  I really was not looking forward to this.  Burpees aren’t that bad…in small quantities, but 100 with nothing in between to break them up just sounded horrible. In the end, I was the last in class to finish (nothing new there, I’m often last!), but I finished 100 burpees in 9:39.  Pretty much the whole rest of the class counted down my last 10-15 reps.  I really wanted to stop and take a break, but how could I with everyone there.  They just kept saying things like “keep moving”, “fall down and get back up”, “you got this”.  How could I stop with all that…I plugged on through and was happy that I was under 10 minutes. 

Today my shoulders are achy and it hurts to lift my arms.  Love it!

sore today

2.  Tomorrow is the finale workout for the Whole Life Challenge.  8 weeks ago I did the preliminary measurements, weigh in, and workout.  Tomorrow we go through the exact same process to see how much we improved over the last 8 weeks.  I am excited and nervous to see how I do. 

I know my scale at home shows a weight loss of about 8 lbs.  That’s great, but I’m more interested to see how my measurements have changed and if my workout score improves.  My pants are fitting better, some of them almost too big and falling off by the end of the day, so hopefully that translates into inches off my waist and hips.  The workout is the biggest unknown.  I’m feeing stronger during class, I’m still slow and will likely always be one of the slower ones, but I like that I’m feeling stronger. 

I’m hoping to see some nice improvements, but either way, I’m proud of how hard I’ve worked these last 8 weeks.  I hope to be able to keep going despite the fact that the official challenge is over.

pride

3.  I have not had one single piece of Halloween candy!  I managed to avoid all temptation and did not eat one piece of candy yesterday.  I’m a bit surprised because I didn’t even really want to eat any!  And we had so many of my favourites!
IMG_4180[1]IMG_4181[1]

Caramilk and Nibs are my weakness.  Normally I would eat probably 5 of each of these while I handed out candy.  Last night I didn’t even think about it. 

Thankfully, when I got home from CrossFit, every last piece had been given out to the little tick-or-treaters that came to the door, so there is nothing left for me to eat today, even if I wanted to!

4.  Tonight I’m going to see Bon Jovi with hubby and the kids.   Initially I was supposed to go with my girlfriends, but something changed that, so hubs and I decided to keep the tickets and take the kids to the show.  This will be their first concert experience.  It should be fun.  We are heading into the city early and will grab dinner somewhere, then head over to the ACC for the big show. 
BonJovi13_678

5.  I’m going to see Bon Jovi tomorrow too!  This is the show that I’m going to see with my girlfriends.  We go to see him every time he comes to town.  We had tickets to tonight’s show first. Then a friend of ours offered to get us tickets to the yet-unannounced second show.  The seats she got us were much better, and we’ve heard the 2nd night is always better, so we decided the Saturday show would be the one we go to.  I had already purchased the seats for tonight’s show and thought about selling them, but then hubs and I decided we would just take the kids.  So while tonight’s show will be fun…it’s tomorrow’s show that I’m really looking forward to.

I am staring the day with my WLC workout, then my sister and I are heading to  the spa for facials and pedicures.  After the spa I will go watch my son’s hockey game…and then the fun begins.  We are heading into the city and we have booked a hotel room for the night so no one needs to drive us home!  We are planners!  We’ve got dinner booked at Real Sports, and then it’s off to the show. 

Before the show starts, Bon Jovi is being inducted in to the ACC Hall of Fame.  Tomorrow’s show will be the 17th that Bon Jovi has performed at the ACC since the building opened in 1999. There is a ceremony of some sorts before the show tomorrow, so we will be in our seats early to see that!

Here’s just one of the reasons why I love Bon Jovi:

bon jovi versace add

Oh, and he can sing too!  He’s not the greatest dancer, but we overlook that!

Do you love Bon Jovi as much as I do?

Happy Friday!
happy friday

6 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. nicolemkurz says:

    Bon Jovi… DROOLLLLLL. 🙂 So jealous of your double whammy!

    Like

  2. Leapin Lizardz says:

    That’s a lot of burpees!!! Good job on finishing them all up and getting a PR on your clean and jerk! AND not eating any of the candy …I am tempted by the sugary stuff …the starburst and twizzlers! My willpower was not strong enough to resist!

    Like

  3. Nice work on those burpees—I feel like we have been going a little burpee crazy over here lately!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      there are another 105 burpees in the WOD tonight, Ryan: 5 rounds 7 muscle ups, 21 burpees. at least they are broken up by the muscle ups (which I can’t do so will probably have to do ring dips and pull ups). But still… Enough is enough!

      Like

Leave a Reply

