My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

A Day Off From CrossFit….and I HATE It!

on November 12, 2013

Today is a rest day for me.  And all I keep thinking about is that I’m missing a WOD that looks killer.  I’m not going, but this is what the WOD is today:
wod nov 12

We did this same Back Squat strength WOD on Oct 23rd.  I got to 115# for the back squat and did 75# for the 20 reps.  All I can think of is how I would do against those numbers if I did the WOD tonight.

Lately I’m determined to improve at CrossFit.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always been trying to improve, but lately I’m really conscious of it.  I think seeing improvement in my Whole Life Challenge workout score showed me it really is possible. (Not to mention the big improvement in my Filthy Fifty time last night…) And now, I’m becoming obsessed with it. I want to keep getting stronger and beating my max loads and times.  And I want to be at CrossFit when I’m not.

success

Tonight is killing me.  It’s my rest day and I wish I was at the Box.  This is really making me consider increasing the number of WODs I do in a week.  Currently my membership let’s me go 3 times a week.  I’d love to go to unlimited, but realistically I don’t think I can go every day.  My body could likely take it, I just don’t think I have the time to go every day.  So, I’m seriously considering upping from my current Silver 3 times a week membership to the Gold 4 times a week membership.  I will have to talk to the coaches and see what they say about the benefits of adding one more WOD a week to my schedule.  Will it help results?  I sure hope so!

Thankfully I am back to CrossFit tomorrow.   Here’s what I have to look forward to.  I can’t wait!

wod nov 13

Since I didn’t have CrossFit tonight, I had a bit more time to prepare dinner.  I tried out a new recipe from Eat Drink Paleo – Finger Lickin’ Chipotle Meatballs.  I served it over Lime Cauli-Rice (shredded cauliflower sautéed in a bit of olive oil, with the juice of one lime squeezed over it).  This was delicious!  Nice flavour, but not too spicy, and thumbs up from everyone at the table. 

photo (29)And, I’ve got 3 leftover meals in the fridge.  Wohoo!

After dinner I made myself a little Paleo treat.  I’d had the recipe saved in my Pocket account for a while now, and finally picked up some gelatin so I could make it.  This one is from Stupid Easy PaleoDairy Free Dark Chocolate Coconut Pudding.  Four ingredients, 5 minutes prep time…and 2 hours waiting for it to chill.  It’s actually been longer than 2 hours, but it hasn’t quite set yet.  I guess I will have to wait until tomorrow to do the taste test. 
photo (30)
Today, I had a surprise email from Zinio.  Clean Eating is back and my new digital issue was ready for download.  I can’t wait to get reading and find some more new, healthy, delicious recipes. 
photo (31)

So, I will sign off and go look for my next new recipe!

Hope your Tuesday was a good one.

Do you miss CrossFit on your days off? 

Have you tried any new and delicious recipes?   Feel free to share!

6 responses to “A Day Off From CrossFit….and I HATE It!

  1. leannenalani says:

    Mmmmm chipotle meatballs sound pretty dang good! I love spicy stuff. I recently tried a recipe from Ashley at Chocolate Covered Race Medals – Chicken Tortilla Soup. It has a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar along with fajita seasoning which gives it an excellent and unique flavor.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      They were pretty tasty! I’ve got leftovers for lunch today and I’m hoping the flavour has just gotten better as it’s had time to sit. I will have to check out the tortilla soup recipe. Sounds delish!

      Like

  2. nicolemkurz says:

    Today is a day off for me too and I’m trying to rearrange my schedule to go. With my new tri-training I’m down to only 3 days/wk at CF and I get a little twitchy every time there’s a workout I don’t want to miss. So I feel your pain!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      At first 3 times a week was good. Now i want to go all the time. Realistically I probably can’t get there every day…well, not without getting divorced along the way! But I really feel i “need” to go more often. hopefully I can figure it out. It really is addictive!

      Like

      • nicolemkurz says:

        Again, I can relate. The reason I started going at 6 a.m. was because hubs was complaining that he never saw me. Prior to CF I was NEVER a morning person. You couldn’t have paid me to get up at 5:30 in the morning… but now… so worth it.

        Like

  3. I love anything chocolate. Good for you for really attacking Crossfit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

