My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on November 23, 2013

Hello kids, and welcome to the weekend!  Wohoo!!!!

Let’s get right to this week’s Friday Five!
friday-five2

1. it’s time once again for Elf for Health.  Last year I joined the Elf for Health challenge run by Lindsay of The Lean Green Bean and Elle of Nutritionella.  Elf for Health is a 4 week challenge that pairs “elves” together and has daily challenges that focus on healthy living and kindness.  I really enjoyed the challenge last year and have signed up again.  The challenge starts Monday and I should receive my first elf pairing over the weekend some time.  I can’t wait to meet my elf and start doing the daily challenges.  There is still time to join, so if you are interested, just go to Lindsay or Elle’s blogs and sign up.  Here’s a peek at the challenges that I will be doing for the next 4 weeks.
elf for health 2013

2.  I’m doing my own mini-whole life challenge.  It’s been about 3 weeks since the Whole Life Challenge ended, and I’m noticing that since I stopped following the food rules, I’ve had days when my stomach is upset and I just don’t feel that great.  So, I am going to challenge myself to follow the WLC rules for the next 4 weeks, starting on Monday.  Hopefully starting tomorrow, but officially starting on Monday.  Here’s a summary of what is in and what’s out.
wlc-cheet-sheet

I’m going to follow the intermediate level again, but I will also allow a few things that weren’t WLC compliant to be okay for my 4 week mini-challenge.  I am giving the okay to honey, maple syrup and alcohol.  I want the honey and maple syrup since so many of the great paleo recipes I found during the challenge use honey and maple syrup as sweeteners.  I will still try to skip sugar, unless it’s in a savoury sauce…same as was allowed for the WLC.  I’m going to allow alcohol for special occasions and parties.  We are coming into the holiday season and we’ve got a few parties to attend and I want to be able to enjoy a cocktail or two if I so choose. 

Hubs has built me an excel program for me to track my scores, and I will keep a reflection every day as well…just like I did during the real challenge. I will give myself bonus points for reflecting for 5 days in a row…just like the real challenge did.  I’m hoping that by having some accountability again, even if it is just to myself, that i will stay on track and keep to the clean, healthy way of eating.  I am going to figure out a little reward to give myself if I manage to stick to the challenge and finish with a certain number of points.  I’m wondering about a pair of Lulu workout capris!  Wish me luck!

3.  I got a B12 shot yesterday.  The naturopathic Doctor that is affiliated with my CrossFit gym was offering B12 shots.  Here is the info that my CrossFit shared about B12:
B12

I decided to try the shot mainly because I am always feeling tired.  Anything that could help give me some more energy is worth a try.  The Doctor will be back in 2 weeks to give another shot.  She recommends for people getting the shots the first time that they get a “top up” 2 weeks later.  I may book an appointment with her at her office to see what else she would recommend. I’m putting my body through a lot of stress at CrossFit.  I need to make sure I’m feeding it properly and that it has the nutrients it needs to perform it’s best.

4.  I had a few PR’s tonight!  Today’s WOD was a good one. 

nov 22 wodI can’t do an unassisted dead hang pull up yet, so I had to use a band.  I used a purple band and did rounds of 7-5-4-3-4.  It may not seem like many, but I had never done that many dead hangs before, so I’m slowly getting stronger. 

For the MetCon I wasn’t able to do 135# squat clean.  Not even close!  Coach Ryan said we should use 65-75% of our 1 rep max.  I’ve done a 90lb squat clean for 2 reps before.  I often struggle with squat things, so I decided not to go too heavy, and used 65# for the WOD.  It wasn’t easy, but it wasn’t impossible, so I figured it was the right weight to use.  Ryan was also encouraging us to use our hips to “upper cut” the bar up.  This was similar to what Coach Justin was getting us to do in Wednesday’s clean work.  I like it.  When you do it right, the bar almost seems weightless and it just flies up.  It feels great! 

The other part of the WOD was Box Jumps.  High box jumps!  Before today, the highest box jump I had done was 24 inches. I was a bit nervous about doing a 30inch box jump.  That’s high!  We got some new soft boxes at the gym that help ease your fear of wrecking your shins…softplyobox…so I figured I would give it a try.  It took a few tries to get my head around jumping this high, but in practice I was able to do it!  So, i figured what the hell, let’s go Rx for the WOD and do 30 30inch box jumps! 

We were able to break up the WOD however we wanted, so I broke it up like this:  10 box jumps, 5 squat cleans, 10 box jumps, 5 squat cleans, 10 box jumps, and 5 squat cleans.  I was fairly slow at the box jumps as I had to psych myself up to jump each time.  I had a few no-reps in there.  Usually the fist jump of each set.  The squat cleans were okay.  I need to work on keeping my knees out on my way back up.  They tend to cave in a bit.  My form did get better as I went on.  Even though there was a 10 minute time cap, I took slightly longer than that, finishing in 10:29.  Last again!

After the WOD, one of the other girls had added another layer to the box to get it to 34inches.  She wanted to try it, but was nervous.  One of the other guys and I convinced her to give it a go.  She baulked the first time, but the second time, she nailed it!  I also gave it a try, and got up there the first time!  We both tried it once more and succeeded again.  So, from never jumping higher than 24inches, I did 30 reps at 30 inches and then did 2 at 34 inches.  Not bad!

Before all of this even started, we started out with some double unders to do some warm-ups.  I don’t know what happened, but tonight I got 27 in a row, and then 25 in a row.  New records for double unders for me.  Before this, the most I’d gotten in a row was 17 I think. I finally got my goal of 20 in a row.  Next goal:  50 in a row!  I will get to give that a shot on Monday, when we do Annie:
nov 25 wod
5.  I took a trip back to my childhood tonight.  I’m not sure where hubs got it, but when I got home from CrossFit, there was a box of Mackintosh’s Toffee on the kitchen counter. 
photo (39)
I hadn’t seen this stuff for ages.  We used to eat it as kids when we were at the arena for public skating.  We would buy it, put it in our pockets and go for a skate.  After a few laps so the toffee would have a chance to get cold, we would take it out of our pockets and smash it against the boards to break it into pieces.  Then we would suck on pieces of toffee while we skated.  It was so smooth and creamy.  It was awesome.  it has probably been at least 30 years since I’ve had this toffee.  Tonight I smashed it on the kitchen table and ate the whole pack while I was writing this post.  It wasn’t quite as good as I remember it being, but it sure was a nice treat.  It is also likely the last sugar thing I will have for the next 4 weeks…unless I treat myself to one last chai latte at the rink while I watch my kids play hockey this weekend! 

How was your Friday?  Get any PR’s as the box?
Don’t forget to check out Elf for Health!

Happy weekend!

7 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. Leapin Lizardz says:

    Love the way that Elf for Health challenge looks! I wish my gym had those soft boxes …I have such a fear of the box jump ever since I shaved off my shin skin like a can opener. I get so anxious I have to use the baby 12in box and I panic with every jump. 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      There is still time to sign up for Elf for Health. They extended it to today so if you are interested head over to Lindsay or Elle’s blog. It’s fun and helps keep on track as we get into holiday season.

      The soft boxes were the only reason I tried the 30 inch jump. I looked at a 30″ wooden box but just couldn’t will myself to do it. I’ve got a nice scar on my shin from a box jump fail at much less than 30 inches! Knowing I wasn’t going to rip my shin open was a huge part if it. I’m convinced that Half of CrossFit is inside your head!

      Like

  2. Lil Mama says:

    I LOVE THOSE BOXES. I might just buy one and bring it with me to the gym…not only do we not have those, we have those stupid plyo boxes that look like lion tamer boxes..i used to have NO fear of box jumps (even did 24″ box jumps at like 5 months pregnant; didn’t stop jumping the 20″ boxes until the trainer forced me at like 38 weeks preggo) until they bought those death traps. I’ve only missed once, 3 weeks ago, still have the bruising

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Those plyo boxes look so unforgiving. The soft boxes at a fairly new addition to our gym. Yesterday was the first time I tried them. They totally took the fear out of the jumps. Loved it!

      Like

  3. thanks for spreading the elf love!

    Like

  4. goalinreach says:

    I love MacIntosh toffee!!! I had it all the time as a kid!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      hubs bought another 4 pack today. i’m resisting for now, but if i’m going to eat it, i need to do it before monday! i guess i’ll enjoy a little treat while I do my meal planning tomorrow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

