My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Blogging is Hard. Instagram is Easy!

on February 5, 2014

Despite wanting to blog more regularly, it just hasn’t been happening.  I have however, been posting to Instagram like nobody’s business! 

I love Instagram.  Point, shoot, comment and done.  It’s so quick and easy.

Most of my Instagram pics are of food..good food!  My pics are not the greatest, since I’m taking them with my iPhone in crappy lighting most of the time, but trust me, the stuff tastes fantastic.

Here are a few of my latest eats:

Bacon Wrapped Sweet Potato and Shrimp Jalapeno Poppers
bacon shrimp poppers

These bad boys were a hit on Super Bowl Sunday as a pre-game snack.  They took a little time to prepare, but were TOTALLY worth it. 
photo

This recipe comes from PaleoNick and he has a great video to show you what you need and how to prepare them.  Summary here:  halve jalapenos and remove seeds, bake and slice sweet potatoes (I nuked mine), fill each jalapeno with sweet potato, top with shrimp, wrap with bacon, and bake. I served with some sriracha and some tangy Thai dip.  Totally delicious.  I even had enough left for a kick-ass, non-traditional breakfast Monday at work.  I am definitely making these again soon…so good!
popper breakfast

For dinner the other night I made a recipe from the LooneySpoons ladies, Janet and Greta Podleski
coconut curry chicken thighs

This was from their Sept 2012 newsletter – Indian Coconut Curry Chicken Thighs.  This was a quick and easy weeknight meal, that made me very happy since it made enough for dinner for all 4 of us, plus 2 leftover meals for lunches this week…and you know how happy leftovers make me Smile

While my Instagram feed is mostly food, there is the occasional WOD post and my kids and cats will show up once in a while on there.  Check out this one of Crosby…his legs look ridiculously long from that angle. 
what long legs you have

One thing that I have done on the blog is add another page…this one of Recipes You Have To Try.  Check it out!  Both of the recipes from above are on there, plus a few other favourites.  Like my Books Read in 2014 page, I will update the Recipe page whenever I find something that is so good it has to be shared. 

I’m always on the lookout for good recipes for meals, snacks, smoothies, whatever…so if you got a good one, let me know about it. 

Okay…I’m heading out to CrossFit for my 8:30 class.  This is what I’ve got to look forward to:
wod feb 5

I’m excited about the double under test…I’ve gotten 95 and 86 so far in these tests…really hoping I can break 100!  I’m less excited about the burpees! 

Have a good night!

Are you on Instagram?  Follow me @collerhead

Leave a Reply

