My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

CrossFit Open 14.2 Announcement

on March 6, 2014

Tonight was the big announcement for 14.2.  Like everyone else competing in the games, I was anxious to see what this week’s Open WOD would be.

Tonight was also my hockey night, so I didn’t get to watch the announcement live, or watch Camille Leblanc-Bazinet and Talayna Fortunato go head to head with the workout.  But, as soon as I walked in the door, I headed straight to my laptop to see what the 14.2 WOD would be..and here’s what I found:

14.2

I have to say…this is not a good WOD for me. I should be able to do the overhead squats, but it won’t be easy. 65lb is the max OHS I have ever done and I’ve only done 10 of them in total at that weight.  I’m hopeful that tomorrow I will be able to do 10 in a row.  And that might be the end of my workout.  I have never done a chest to bar pull-up without a band.  The only pull-up I can do unassisted is a kipping pull-up, but I don’t get my chest to the bar.  I guess tomorrow will be an interesting WOD…if I can get just one C2B pull-up I will be thrilled.  I guess I will spend some time tomorrow searching for YouTube videos about how to do a C2B pull-up. 

Aside from tomorrow being the day I will do 14.2, it will also be the last day of my Whole Life Challenge.  Since I will be away when the group is doing the finale WOD on Saturday, I will be doing mine tomorrow morning.  I was a bit worried that doing the WLC finale WOD might impact my performance on the Open WOD that I will do later in the afternoon.  Now that I’ve seen the Open WOD, I won’t have to worry about that being a problem.  I’m pretty sure I will be taking a 10 as my score for the Open WOD, and the WLC WOD in the morning isn’t going to change that.

Are you looking forward to 14.2?
Can you do C2B pull-ups?

7 responses to “CrossFit Open 14.2 Announcement

  1. Leapin Lizardz says:

    I feel you! I can’t do C2B pull ups without a band either. I’ve already been given the advice of “use a chin up grip” .. “use a mixed grip”. I’ll put in a little practice tomorrow and see what feels better. I hope to get ONE! I will be thrilled too! Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  2. j!b says:

    I was really bummed when I read the 14.2 WOD. I haven’t done any OHS in the past 2 months due to my shoulder so I have no idea how I’m going to do 10 @ 65lbs.
    C2B? not sure about that either… I can do strict pull ups but I don’t think my chest touches the bar. I was thinking maybe I can learn to do them in the next couple days, then again I may not even make it through 10 OHS. Oh well, gotta give it a try right?

    Like

  3. karen.caume@yahoo.ca says:

    WOW can’t wait to see the new CrossFit you this summer.

    Karen

    ________________________________

    Like

  4. Lil Mama says:

    Mix or reverse grip. Practice a few reps but it should help. Try to remember to time your kip so that at the top, you are pulling towards the bar as well as up.

    This won’t be a great WOD for me. I’d like to get to the second set of 12 pull ups. That’s basically my goal LOL since I never do chest to bar and not sure how many I can string together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

