My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on March 7, 2014

Hello all.  Happy Friday, happy weekend, and happy vacation for me!

friday-five2

Let’s get right to it!

1.  I am officially on vacation!  Wohoo!!!!!  We are off to Vermont for our annual March Break ski trip to Okemo.  This will be our 6th or 7th year going.  We’ve got a great group going that may even be getting bigger as I type as friends of ours are seeing if they can book something last minute and come too.  It is going to so much fun.  This is one of our best weeks of the year.  The hill is awesome, we have a fantastic room, the hot tub is just outside our building, and the snow is going to be the best we’ve had for a few years. We are packing the truck and loading everything up so we can head out bright and early tomorrow morning.  We start skiing Sunday afternoon and I CAN’T WAIT!!!  It’s #OkemoTime! 
okemo time
2.  Today was the last day of the Whole Life ChallengeThe GroundWorx group will be doing the final WOD tomorrow morning.  Since I will be heading to Vermont, I did the workout this morning.  It was the same workout we did 8 weeks ago:
wlc wod

In the preliminary WOD, my score was 238.  My final score was 247…so a slight improvement.  My calories weren’t as good time on the bike (my legs were still feeling the squat WOD I had on Wednesday night).  Last time I got 44 cals, this time 42..so just a few shy. This time I was able to do more reps of the rest of it though.  Prelim WOD I made it to 69 push-ups.  Today I got to 80..so some improvement there.  By the end of the 11 minutes, my shoulders were toast…they were burning like mad.  Overall I’m pretty happy with the WOD.  I improved, not by a huge amount, but a little bit better, which is going in the right direction.  We also had to take our measurements – waist and hips. I lost 3 inches off my waist, and 2 off my hips…and I think that’s fantastic! 

Overall, I’m happy with how my Challenge went.  I was very good with my eating, found lots of great new recipes, resisted temptation MANY times, and saw improvements in my workout, measurements and even dropped 8 lbs on the scale. 

Now, the trick will be to keep going with these new, healthy habits now that we aren’t checking in online daily.  I know with our March Break trip, my eating will not be perfect and I will be enjoying a few cold Coronas when I come off the hill each day, but I will do my best and not stress over it.  I will get back to clean/paleo/challenge eating when we get back home. 

3.  I did 14.2 tonight.  This WOD was not meant for me:
14.2

I have never done 10 reps at 65lbs in total, let alone in a row, and I can’t do C2B pull-ups.  We spent a good part of class stretching and warming up for the WOD.  In warm-up I did try 65lbs and was able to do it with good form.  I only did 2 in warm-up since I didn’t want to use my good reps when they didn’t count.  We also warmed up our pull-ups.  I attempted some C2B in the warm-up, but barely got my chin over the bar.  I wasn’t too worried about it.  My goal for the WOD was to get through the first 10 OHS.

When it came time for the WOD, I did 8 great OHS in a row.  Number 9 was dicey, and I didn’t get low enough so it was a no-rep.  I dropped the bar and regrouped.  I didn’t want to try snatching that much weight up, so I cleaned and pressed overhead, then lowered to behind my head, adjusted my grip to the wider snatch grip and them pressed up into the overhead position.  I kept thinking “keep it all tight” and managed 2 good, clean OHS to get to my 10!  I had about 1:45 left to try to get a C2B.  I got close, but it didn’t happen Sad smile.  After the time was up, I kept trying and on my third or 4th extra try I GOT IT!  I felt the bar touch my chest!  It was awesome!  Smile I tried to do another one, but never quite got it again.  That’s okay.  At least now I can say I’ve done 1 Chest to Bar pull-up.  It’s too bad I didn’t get it during the 3 minutes of the WOD as I’m thinking that 1 C2B rep will be a big rep in the scores.  Oh well.  I’m happy with my 10.

4.  I’m on vacation!

5. I’M ON VACATION!!!  For the next week, you can find me on one of these trails…if in doubt, check WarDance.  It’s my favourite trail on the mountain.  It’s often closed for racing, so whenever it’s open I’m on it!
Okemo_Trail_Map_2013-18x12

Now I need to go finish packing.  We head out tomorrow morning at 8am. 

I will try to post a bit while I’m away, but no guarantees. If you want to see what I’m doing, be sure to follow me on Instagram @collerhead as I’m sure I will be posting pictures…it’s just so easy!

Did you do 14.2?  How did it go?

7 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. Oh wow! Way to go!!!

    Like

  2. j!b says:

    Awesome job on the OHS! And the C2B!
    I went to the box today and tried the OHS. Over 2 months without any practice and today I felt unstable with 55lbs. No 14.2 for me 😦
    Have fun on your vacation!

    Like

  3. leannenalani says:

    Enjoy your vacation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

