My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Weekend Roundup

on April 27, 2014

It’s Sunday evening and that means the weekend is almost over Sad smile  I had a great weekend, so it’s time for a little….
weekend roundup

FRIDAY: Friday was a good day.  Got a few things done at work in the morning and then ran some errands in the afternoon before picking my son up at school.  I hit CrossFit for the 5:30pm class where we worked on handstand push-ups and hollow rocks before a metcon of 3 rounds 500m row with a 3 min rest between rows.  I’ve got handstand push-ups on my goals for the year.  I used 2 abmats and was able to do 11-9-7-6-6 for the 5 sets of max effort.  I was happy with that, but I think I’m a long way from being able to get rid of one abmat, let alone 2, to be able to do a full HSPU.  I’ve still got 8 months to work on it! 

Rowing is not my favourite CrossFit activity.  I’ve got short legs and I just don’t get as much out of each stroke as some of my fellow CrossFitters with longer limbs.  Still, I gave it my best and managed 2:03, 2:04 and 2:07 for the 3 rounds.  I’m not sure if that was my fast 500m, but all three times were faster than last time we did this WOD back on Sept 24, 2013 when I rowed 2:08, 2:12 and 2:12.  So my slowest 500m this time was better than my fastest 500m last time…so that’s all good! 
this_girl_hate_rowing_t_shirts-rdd775fc572e445fbb284386af06e63df_8nhmi_324

SATURDAYI started my Saturday, with a 9:30am CrossFit class.  The strength workout was deadlifts.  Ever since Open 14.3 my back has been a little tweaky during deadlifts, so I kept it light and just worked on form.  Coach Andrew, who is a competitive Power Lifter and can deadlift a ridiculous amount of weight for his size, gave me a few tips on setup position and what to think about when lifting and it made a huge difference in how my deadlifts felt.  Thinking about pushing down on the ground, rather then pulling up, totally took my back out of the equation and it didn’t bother me at all. 

After the deadlift strength work, the metcon was a killer: 
wod april 26

Coach said he wanted the first round of dumbbell lunges to be unbroken, and I was pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to do that with the 20# RX weight, so I used 15# for the WOD instead.  Probably a good move since this WOD kicked my ass!  Wall balls are not my friend.  They suck the life right out of me.  I don’t know if it’s that whole short leg thing again, but they are so hard for me.  I did do them RX, but they were tough!  In the end I suffered through it in 16:50. 

Saturday afternoon Jacko started his first season of lacrosse.  I’m not sure I’m going to like it.  We went early to watch the game before and see what this whole lacrosse thing is about.  The kids crosscheck like crazy and hit each other with their sticks constantly.  Some of the hits look like they are completely unnecessary and the kids are just hitting each other for the sake of hitting and not trying to get the ball off of them at all. 

Jacko is so excited about playing and couldn’t wait to get onto the floor.  His team actually doesn’t have a coach yet, but thankfully one of the refs put them through a few drills before the game and explained a few of the rules to them.  A few of the dads volunteered to open the doors so they weren’t on their own on the bench. 

The pictures aren’t very good, but here are a few shots of the dude in his glory.
photo 1 (3)photo 3 (1)

Jack had a blast, and his team won the game, but one of his teammates was crosschecked so hard into the boards that he had to leave the game and the kid who hit him from behind was kicked out of the rest of the game and apparently was suspended for a game.  This didn’t do much for my concern about the game.  Hopefully next week is a cleaner game. 

SUNDAYToday was a rest day, so no workout for me!  The weather was pretty good, not quite warm enough for my liking, but okay, so we did some work outside.  Hubs finished raking the yard and put down some fertilizer.  I trimmed the shrubs and bushes and we put some mulch in the garden.  It looks pretty good.  I do not have a green thumb at all, so everything we have is pretty low maintenance. 

After the yard work, I got to menu planning. 
photo 1 (4)

We’ve got some good eats lined up for the week…including a new item found and requested by my 14 year old, Nick.  Nick likes bacon and spicy things and the dish he found has both of these!  Bacon Wrapped Sriracha Onion Rings.  These were quick and easy to prepare and baked in the over for an hour or so…and holy deliciousness! 
photo 2 (4)photo 1 (5)photo 2 (5)

These were a tasty part of our dinner tonight:  Steak, grilled asparagus and the onion rings…Total YUMMO! 
photo 3 (3)
I’ve got a busy week ahead of me.  CrossFit Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday.  I’m doing a mobility class on Thursday – I’m loving these classes!  Tuesday I’ve got a massage scheduled…I can’t wait!  Although my body doesn’t feel as achy as usual since I’ve started the mobility classes. And next Saturday, the summer round of the Whole Life Challenge starts.  I’m looking forward to it for the most part.  I’ve got a few weekend events that will fall in the challenge window, but I’m not too worried about it.  I’m going to eat and drink what I want during those events and do my best the rest of the time. 

Now, I’m going to publish this post and watch the new John Oliver show Last Week Tonight on HBO.  I liked him when he was on The Daily Show.  I’m looking forward to seeing what he does on his own show.

How was your weekend?  Do anything exciting?
Try any new recipes?

5 responses to “Weekend Roundup

  1. OH MY!!! Those bacon onion rings should have come with an severely addictive warning! Soooo good! Made them at work in the toaster oven and my staff and I devoured the whole batch! Thanks for sharing

    Like

  2. j!b says:

    ooh.. those bacon onion rings look so good! I have no doubt that I can easily finish an entire package of bacon wrapped around onion rings!! Definitely something I’ll have to try. Not much for me this past weekend, no crossfit 😦 But that’s okay, I’m hoping to be back at it later this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

