My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on May 9, 2014

I’m not gonna lie, this has been a pretty shitty week for me, and I’m glad it’s over.  Sadly, what is making my week crap isn’t going to go away just because tomorrow’s Saturday.  Anyways, let’s get to it:
friday-five2

1.  I’m coming to the end of the first week of the WLC.  So far, sticking to the challenge has been pretty easy.  I haven’t eaten anything processed and I really don’t have any cravings, so all is good.  I’ve been active with CrossFit, ball hockey, and golf, so meeting my daily workout requirements has been easy.  This week’s lifestyle challenge has been 10 minutes of daily meditation.  In past challenges I have hated this, but this week, I am really enjoying taking the time to just “be present and aware”.  I found an app that has little reminders and “practices” that pop up throughout the day for 2 minutes of meditation breaks here and there and this week I’ve found them helpful, so I guess that’s good.  Tomorrow the lifestyle component changes to drinking half our body weight in ounces of water.  This isn’t tough for me since pretty much since September when I did my first WLC I always have a water bottle with me and drink tons of water every day.

Yesterday I finally did the WLC preliminary WOD.  It was:
WLC pre wod

I have been dreading this WOD since the challenge started.  I wasn’t able to do it with the group since my son had lacrosse last Saturday when the WOD was being done.  I wanted to do it last Sunday, but just couldn’t drag my butt out of bed.  Then I finally planned to do it last night, before my mobility class.  I sucked it up, tied up my sneakers, set my phone timer for 11 minutes and headed out the garage doors at the gym and ran.  I HATE running!  Really, I have no idea how I ran  5 or 6 half marathons and a full marathon before.  Anyways, I hauled by butt around 4 laps of the gym building and then went inside for the rest.  I managed to complete the squats, sit-ups, push-ups and 5 burpees.  Hopefully in the next 7 weeks I can improve my run speed, which was my big limiting factor for this WOD, so I can have more time for the other fun stuff.  Did I just say burpees were fun?
fun burpees


2.  Ball hockey started this week! 
I played my first ball hockey game of the season Monday at 10pm…a late game!  It was a great workout – especially since I did a CrossFit class from 8:30-9:30 before heading to the rink for the game .  Ball hockey is all running.  There is no coasting and man, did I missed my skates!  We ended up losing 3-0, but we still had tons of fun.  Between a CrossFit WOD that had running in it, and the running in the ball hockey game, I had no problem at all reaching my 10,000 step goal with my FitBit! 
photo (3)
3.  Golf started this week too!  I am so happy to be back out on the golf course!  My game this week was nothing to write home about (although, I will blog about it!), but I still had a great time.  I got a chance to see friends who I haven’t seen all winter and the weather was actually not too bad, so we had a great night on the course.  I ended up shooting a 60, which is pretty bad, but we played the back 9, which is the tougher of the nines at RedCrest, so I’ll take the 60 for the first time out. 

I had 2 blow-up holes with 9’s on them, which didn’t help my score at all.  I put 2 drives into the lake on the same hole…which sucked!  But despite the 9’s and losing a few balls, there were a few good things too.  My driver was working not too badly.  My left curve did make an appearance, but for the most part, my drives went fairly straight with a bit of a fade, which is okay.  I just wish I knew what I was doing when it goes straight and what I’m not doing right when it hangs a giant left.  One of the girls in my foursome Tuesday night, who is a great golfer, gave me a little tip to just pause for a second at the top of my swing.  I tried it (when I remembered) and it did seem to help it go straighter, so hopefully I will remember that when I’m back out there next week. 

Here’s a video that Cardinal has put together that gives you a bit of an idea of the course.  It really is a beautiful course and I’m looking forward to spending my Tuesday afternoons there this summer.

4.  People seem to like Oprah!  Since I’m on the Whole Life Challenge, I can’t enjoy my usual Starbucks Grande, Non-Fat, No Water, 5 pump, Extra Hot Chai Latte.  Instead I will have regular tea.  Yesterday, I picked up a Zen tea on my way back to the office from lunch.  These days the sleeves have Oprah quotes on them.  This is the one I got on my tea yesterday, which I posted to Instagram. 
image

The text is small, but it says “ trying to find my Zen while @Oprah tells me to be more splendid, be more extraordinary, and use every moment to fill myself up.  @Starbucks #teatime”  Normally my Instagram  posts get a few likes…this one is now up over 120 likes.  It’s just a picture of a cup of tea!  I’m guessing Oprah might have something to do with the popularity of this one! 

5. I’m looking forward to the weekend.  As usual, we have a busy weekend planned.  I’ve got CrossFit tomorrow morning, Jacko has a lacrosse game tomorrow mid-day, hubs is going up to the cottage to help his mom get the water running and hook up the satellite TV for the season, at some point I need to menu plan and grocery shop, and I think I’m hosting a little Mother’s Day Brunch for us, my sister’s family, my mom (who happens to be in town watching my sister’s kids while she was away at a work conference), and probably my sister’s MIL.  Should be fun. I think I’m going to make the prosciutto wrapped frittatas from NomNomPaleo’s Food for Humans, sweet potato hash, some bacon (because you can’t have brunch without bacon!), maybe some WLC friendly oatmeal muffins, and likely some pancakes for the kids, since my niece and nephew absolutely LOVE pancakes!  We’ll have some fruit in there just to round it all out.  I can’t wait…it’s going to be delicious! Guess I can kiss my sleep in goodbye…I’m going to need to get up early…and…
cook up a storm

Sounds like I’ve got a jam-packed weekend ahead of me! 

What’s on tap for your weekend?
Got any big plans for Mother’s Day?

2 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. snapbird says:

    Hi! I’ve looked at the WLC a couple times over this past year, and get weekly emails, but I haven’t signed up yet. Do you love it? Is it worth the money? I love challenges, and I’m really tempted to take this one on! I would love your opinion 🙂 Thanks!! Hope this week is better for you 🙂

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      This is the third one I’ve done and I definitely think it’s worth the money. (especially if you can use a discount code!). I find being in the challenge just gives me that little extra motivation to stick to a clean/healthy diet, avoid the crap and just pay a little more attention to everything. And, so far each time, I’ve seen great results, so that’s a plus too. Now if I can just manage to stick to the plan in the “off months” that would be great! And thanks…so far this week is MUCH better than last! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

