My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

August Mile-A-Day Challenge

on August 3, 2014

august-challenge

I mentioned this in my Friday Five post, but for the month of August, I am going to try to run a mile every day. 

Despite the fact that I used to run a lot, these days I am not a big fan of running at all.  Running seems to be creeping into a lot of my CrossFit WODs lately – either 200m or 400m between rounds in a WOD, or 1 mile timed runs – and I hate it. So, in an effort to improve, and not let the running portion of WODs wreck my overall times, I gave myself the mile-a-day challenge.

I am 3 days in and so far I’ve ran every day!

August 1:  after CrossFit class (which included a 400m run in the warm up, and 5 200m runs in the WOD already!), time 10:34

August 2:  at the cottage, time 10:05

August 3:  at the cottage, time: 10:14

I’m not breaking any land-speed records, but I’m getting it done.

Hopefully I can keep it going all month.  I know I will have a few days when it will be tough to squeeze in – like when I’m golfing in Michigan in a few weeks, or when I’m in St. Lucia for a week at the end of the month – but I’m going to do my best. 

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Anyone want to join in?

6 responses to “August Mile-A-Day Challenge

  1. Ugh… we’re in the same boat I think. I used to love running, now it’s just the thing that comes between the fun stuff in any given WOD. I’ll join you. 1 mile after work today should be doable, although the morning WOD kicked my butt AND included a 2km run. Will give me motivation to get out tomorrow when the box is “closed for the holiday” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

