My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on October 3, 2014

So, despite not blogging much lately, a lot has been going on in my world.  Let’s try to get caught up with another edition of…
friday-five2

1.  I’m doing the Whole Life Challenge again.  My CrossFit is doing the challenge again, and I decided to join in.  I was debating since last time I pretty much paid my money and then didn’t really get much out of it.  I didn’t even do the final WOD last time!  This time I wasn’t sure if it would be worth it, since week 2 of the challenge I would be on vacation in Jamaica and I knew I would lose all of my nutrition points.  But, I really needed something to help me get back on track, so I went for it.  I did lose all my food points for 8 straight days (can you say blender drinks!), but I managed to keep the rest of my points, so it wasn’t a complete waste.  I’ve been back home for a week and things are going well.  I’ve lost a few pounds and my eating has been great.  Once again, being prepared is the key, so I’m all over my menu planning, grocery shopping and food prep.  Hopefully I can keep it going for the remainder of the challenge. 

2,  I’m doing a partner comp at my Box this weekend!  It is the 4th anniversary for CrossFit Newmarket Central, and to celebrate they are having a friendly competition.  I’ve partnered up with my friend Nikki and I’m really looking forward to it.  The first 2 WODs have been announced:
4 year frenzy wod 1
4 year frency wod 2

I have no idea how we will do, but it should be lots of fun and a pretty good workout!  If I live to tell, I’ll share how we made out!

3.  I’m going to Arizona to golf in December!  The first weekend in September, I played in a match play competition for the Great Lakes Regional qualifier for the EWGA Cup. My 8-person team, the YS Cresties (named after our home course, RedCrest) finished in a three way tie for first after the 2 day competition.  We had a sudden death playoff, and in the end, we finished third, but qualified to go to the Cup finals at Troon North, in Scottsdale, Arizona Dec 7-9.  I can’t seem to get the video to post, so you’ll have to click on the link to see a bit of what we have in store for us:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yfan4X0nmLM and here are a few shots taken from the Troon North website.  It sure looks pretty!
banner_Pinn_10_Lonnabanner_Pinn_Saguaro_-_The_One

We’ve rented a house on the 9th green of one of the courses and the flights have been booked. now we just need to wait for December to come…only 65 more days!
arizona countdown 65
4.  I’ve had some good eats lately.  @Cleaneatingmag spicy spinach and chick peas, @paleonick bacon wrapped shrimp jalapeno poppers, and I’m bringing @thepaleokitchen twice baked butternut squash to a potluck Sunday night.  Yummo!
IMG_1752IMG_1741IMG_1543

5.  It’s the weekend and I’ve got lots going on!  I’ve got CrossFit class tonight at 5:30, hitting up a Lululemon sale at 7:30, CrossFit comp tomorrow, kids hockey tomorrow and Sunday, and at some point in there I need to meal plan, grocery shop and do some food prep.  Should be a ton of fun!

Happy Weekend!

One response to “The Friday Five

Leave a Reply

