My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on October 24, 2014

friday-five2

Wohoo!  We did it!  We made it to the weekend.  For some reason, this felt like a very long week, so I am glad it’s over.  Now, let’s get to it.

1.  Found this on the web.  I don’t watch much late night TV anymore, but if I do it’s usually Jimmy Kimmel.  Occasionally I’ll watch Jimmy Fallon but not that often. I’m kind of sad that I missed Fallon’s interview with Bradley Cooper  this week…just to see how they rescued an interview out of this.  It’s a bit on the long side, but totally hilarious to see how they just can’t keep it together.

2.  To Serve and Protect, and help with math!  Saw this on someone’s Facebook page and thought it was cute.  Love the mother’s reaction at the end!

3.  I’ve been reading a bit lately.  I`m always looking for a good book to read.  When I go to Costco I take pics of the latest books out and then try to borrow them from the library.  I also like to see what other bloggers are reading.  That`s how I found the last book I read.  Lindsay, over at Happy or Hungry, shared a few of the books she`s been reading lately.  I managed to find a few of them and so far I`m really enjoying them.  I just finished The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls, and I`m reading another book by her called The Silver Star.  I`m only a few pages in, but I`m hopeful it will be as good as The Glass Castle.  I’ve updated my Books Read in 2014 page as well.  I’m up to 18 of my goal of 24 books read this year.  I better keep reading if I want to hit that target. 

4.  I want this cookbook. 
thug kitchen

I’ve been following Thug Kitchen on their Facebook page for a while.  The recipes look amazing and their recipe details and instructions are written in such a way you know exactly what’s on their mind!  I just learned they have a cookbook out.  They give a teaser on their website…check it out, it’s a good read.  I will have to venture to Costco this weekend and see if it’s there, or I may be forced to pay full retail for it at Chapters!

and last, but certainly not least…

5.  My baby turned 13 today!  I can’t believe Jacko is 13.  Time has just flown by.  I can remember the day he was born like it was just yesterday.  I had been craving McDonald’s french fries like crazy.  Finally, that night, I was going to get some fries.  We walked into McD’s and my water broke.  I was scheduled for a c-section 5 days later, but he decided he wanted to make an early appearance.  I never did get my fries. Instead, around 9pm I got a bouncing baby boy.  6 lbs 7 ounces of cuteness. 
FullSizeRender (1)

Now, although he’s not a baby anymore, he will always be my baby!  Love you Jacko! 

All he wanted for his birthday was a Mac Book Air.  We wrapped up a couple small presents – some socks and underwear…every 13 year old’s dream gifts!  Then we gave him a math workbook that Rory found at the grocery store…a joke gift…math book / Mac Book.  Get it?  We thought it was pretty funny, but he was not impressed.  He looked heartbroken.  Then we told him to look under a blanket on the floor beside the couch.  We had hid one last present for him…he actually screamed when he opened it. 

FullSizeRender (2)FullSizeRender (4)FullSizeRender (3)

Once he got the real Mac Book Air, he appreciated the humour of the Math book a bit more!

FullSizeRender

We had pizza and ice cream cake for dinner and Jacko seems to be a pretty happy birthday boy. 

Just so happens that today is also my mom’s birthday.  I like to think that giving her a grandson for her birthday was the best present she’s ever gotten!  She may agree with me Smile

I’m off to CrossFit tomorrow morning to do some front squats and then a 12 minute partner WOD where one person holds a handstand against the wall while the other partner does 5 burpees, 10 kettle bell swings and 15 goblet squats.  Sounds like fun! 

What’s up for your weekend?

Read any good books lately?

One response to “The Friday Five

  1. Leapin Lizardz says:

    Read and loved The Glass Castle years ago!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

