My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Photo 101–Day 2 “Street”

on November 5, 2014

So, I’ve signed up for WordPress’s Photo 101 class.  Each day, they will post a theme and participants are to interpret anyway they like, take a photo and then post it.
photo101
I’m a bit behind (today is day 3), since it is dark now when I go to and come home from work.  Day 1 was “Home”  I will try to catch up on this one tomorrow when I”m working from home.  I know what I want to take a picture of for this one, so hopefully there will be some sunshine and I can get out and do it over my lunch break.

Day 2 was “Street”.  I know we are supposed to take new pictures for this class, but I have 2 favourite pictures that just fit this topic so  I’m cheating and digging into my photo archive for this one.

We spend a lot of time at the cottage between the spring and fall each year.  Our cottage is 3 cottages away from our cousin’s and we spend much time travelling down the road between the two places as our kids love to hang out with each other and are constantly travelling between the two cottages.

These shots are from the fall of 2005 and the spring of 2006 along the same patch of road.  I had no idea about photo composition, and really still don’t, so not sure if these are “technically” good pics, but regardless, they are two of my favourites.

Fall 2005, shot with our first digital camera, a Nikon PowerShot A70:  Jacko (2 weeks before his 4th birthday) making the walk home for lunch after a morning spent playing with his cousins.  I love how it’s just him and the road.  For me, it captures his independence and determination as he trots down the road.

img_3202rev-0.jpg

Spring 2006, shot with our DLSR Nikon D50.  Same road.  Nick enjoying a little bike ride.  I love the look of sheer joy on his face.

DSC_0234

That was a fun trip down memory lane.

Can’t wait to get back to the cottage in spring 2015!

5 responses to “Photo 101–Day 2 “Street”

  1. Sandi says:

    Love both photos–the determination in the first, the wild joy in the second.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Caroline says:

    Your photos make me smile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

