My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Motivational Monday

on February 9, 2015

It’s Monday!
motivational-monday1.pngThis week’s little bit of motivation is a little too close to home for me.

weakness leaving the bodyIf this is true, I should be one strong chick this week.

Last week was a rough one for me at CrossFit and I had more pain that I really needed.  First, I messed up my wrist on Wednesday:

FullSizeRender (6)No idea what I did, but holy cow did it hurt. I had an acupunture treatment on it Thursday, rested it over the weekend, and It’s much better today.  I’m hoping I will be able to do tonight’s WOD (Elizabeth, 21-15-9 squat snatch, ring dips) without any modifications other than scaling the weight and using a band for my ring dips, which I always do.  I will play it by ear and see how it feels.  If it hurts, I will ask my coach what else I can do.

Friday, after modifying the WOD to skip the push press – doing hollow rocks instead (since I didn’t want to use my wrist that much), I ended up hurting my right foot getting off the air dyne.  The WOD was 50-40-30-20-10 push press and calories on the air dyne. I did the hollow rocks and holy crap…they killed!  I was just finished the 30 cals on the air dyne and was getting off when I got my foot jammed between the pedal and the bike.  I didn’t wait for the pedal to stop turning and missed the middle bar as I stepped off and crunch….what an awful feeling!  I could feel so many bones cracking and crunching.  OUCH!  Coach Sav said maybe this was a good place to stop and she got me some ice.  I lay with my foot up on some ab mats for a few minutes and once the pain subsided I gimped my way out of the gym.  Once I got home it was ice and elevation again:
ankle iceLuckily I was taking Saturday off from the gym since my son had a hockey tournament and I couldn’t make it to class. Aside from some pretty decent bruising on the inside of my foot my the ankle/arch, the top by my toes, and the outside below the ankle it is feeling pretty good.  I’ve been putting Traumeel on it regularly and I think that helped.  I’m almost limp free.

My goal for tonight is to get out of the gym without any more injuries!

Wish me luck!

How’s Monday treating you so far?

2 responses to “Motivational Monday

  1. j!b says:

    Monday is kicking my butt! Left work later than i had hoped. Hoping i can make it to the gym tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

