My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Motivational Monday

on March 2, 2015

Hey peeps!  Can you believe it is March already?

motivational-monday1.png

As I mentioned on Friday, the CrossFit Open started last week.  The first WOD was a 9 minute AMRAP  followed by a max effort clean & jerk.  I opted for the scaled workout, since I wasn’t sure if I would be able to do the 75# snatch.
scaled 15.1I was pretty happy with my results:
15.1 score

I was able to do all rounds of the knee raises unbroken and the deadlifts too.  I did pause at few times at the bottom of the snatch but I did do a full snatch, not a ground to overhead (clean + press/jerk), so I thought that was pretty good.  In the end I was 1 snatch short of 6 full rounds.  I was also pretty happy with my clean and jerk.  I eased up to 95# pretty easily, then I tried 105# and cleaned it no problem, but failed to lock out overhead.  I only had a minute or so left, so dropped back to 100 since I was pretty sure I could get that no problem.  I was right, but now I kind of wish I tried 105 again, but I’d never C&J’d that much before, so thought it was smarter to at least get 100#.   That ties the most I’ve ever done, and considering that was after I was exhausted from the 9 minute AMRAP, I can live with that!

I was thinking about trying the RX WOD at home in the basement on Sunday, but I ran out of time and when I tried a few toes to bar, they weren’t feeling that great, so I didn’t bother.  I’m not going to the Games, so I don’t need to worry about my place on the Leaderboard!

I did the WOD during our box’s Friday Night Throw Down.  All the regular members did the WOD in different heats.  I was in the 2nd heat and only had time to stress out watching one group go ahead of me.  Once I got into the WOD I was fine, but I will admit I was pretty nervous waiting for my heat.  After I was done I stuck around to cheer on friends and waited for the coaches and elite athletes to go.  The girls went first, then the guys.  They were so amazing to watch.   They threw the weight around like it was nothing.  They lifted heavy and it was awesome!  They were so inspiring to watch.

surround yourself.

I can’t wait until next Friday to do it all again!

In the meantime, tonight I’ve got the Filthy Fifty to look forward to!

IMG_2057.png

They’ve set a 30 minute time cap for this one tonight. I’ve done this workout twice.  March 13, 2013, I finished 7 stations in 35 minutes.  Nov 11, 2013 I finished the whole thing in 37:33 (they had a time cap, but I kept going!).  Hopefully tonight I can knock off the whole thing in 30 minutes.  Fingers Crossed!

Happy Monday!

Did you do 15.1?  How did it go?

2 responses to “Motivational Monday

  1. oooo! I love filthy 50! Except the last 3 chunks are always KILLER! Have fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. j!b says:

    I’m not too thrilled with my 15.1 results and really considered doing it Rx’d today but i was so unsure and anxious today that i barely ate. So when i showed up at the box for my workout i had no energy even when i was warming up. Oh well. Looking first to 15.2 and focused on doing it Rx’d the first time. Don’t overthink it and just do it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

