My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Friday Five

on March 13, 2015

It’s Friday…let’s get to it!

friday-five2.jpg

1.  I am on vacation!  🙂  Tomorrow we leave for our annual March Break trip to Vermont to ski at Okemo Mountain in Ludlow, VT.  We always have a fantastic time, and I’m sure this year will be no exception.  The ski box is loaded  with 4 sets of skis and 3 snowboards.  I’m bringing my board again this year, but haven’t decided if I will use it or not.  My knee still hurts from the wipe out I took last year, so I’m a bit nervous about it.  I will see how I feel and see what the snow is like and play it by ear.  I’m not too sure how much blogging I will get done next week.  If you are looking for me, check Wardance…it’s my favourite Okemo run!
alpine_map_lg

2.  It’s the week for 15.3 of the CrossFit Open.  There was lots of internet chatter about 15.3.
15.3For the first time in the Open, a workout started with muscle ups. That takes a huge chunk of CrossFitters out of contention before the workout even starts….me included.  Muscle Ups are the move that everyone dreams of being able to do.  I’ve never even tried one, so knew it was scaled for me!  The scaled workout removed the muscle ups and changed the double-unders to singles.
15.3 SCALEDI was happy to see the muscle ups go, but I wasn’t crazy about singles.  I haven’t done singles at CrossFit ever.  Double-unders are one CrossFit thing I can actually do really well.  In regular WODs with double-unders, I don’t finish last!  So, when they took them out I was a bit sad.  Plus, we have been practicing double-unders before every class for the last few weeks.  Oh well…that’s life!  I was thrilled to see the 10# wall ball.  I hate wall balls, so anything to make them easier is welcome in my eyes.  10# makes them doable for me.

I went to the 9:30am class today, instead of the usual Friday Night Throw Down, since I knew I would have last minute stuff to do for our trip tomorrow.   We did some muscle up progression work for the guys who were going to try RX.  It was interesting and really the first muscle up stuff I’d ever done.  One guy got his first ever muscle up in warm up and then managed to get 8 in the RX wod.  Totally awesome!  I finished with a score of 606.  I didn’t really have any idea how I would do, given my difficulty with wall balls.  I’m pretty happy with my score.  Last time we did Karen, it took me over 16 minutes to just to 150 wall balls and today I did 150 wall balls and 456 skips in only 14 minutes, so I can live with that.
IMG_3483

Next week I will have to do 15.4 on Sunday afternoon after I get back from skiing.  Last year I was so tired on Sunday after my week on the ski hill.  It was not my best performance.  Hopefully the workout will be something that isn’t too leg heavy.  Time will tell!

3.  This made me laugh.  I saw this today when I was scrolling through my Facebook feed.  It made me laugh out loud.  Warning…it’s a bit on the potty-side of humour!  That had to feel better!  LOL.

4.  Our kitchen makeover is almost finished!  The replacement counter for the piece that was made too short was installed today.  It looks great.  Half of the back splash is up, and the rest and grout are going up tomorrow.  I will post a picture of the finished product when I see it next Saturday!  Can’t wait!

5.  It’s getting late, I still need to pack my bag, but this is happening!
FullSizeRender (8)
Happy Friday!

Happy March Break!  

2 responses to “The Friday Five

  1. So jealous! I love skiing and am dying to make my on a family ski vacation. I hope the conditions are perfect for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cathyo says:

      We had an amazing week. It was cold most days, but the snow was fantastic. Monday might have been my best Okemo day ever…we’ve been going for 8 years. Now i’m home, and exhausted. I need a vacation after my vacation!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

