My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Making Changes

on July 8, 2015

Bad-Blogger

Well, it’s been 2 months since I posted a blog.  I am really not doing well with posting at all this year.  That needs to change.  I need to find someway to fit blogging into my life again.  I really enjoy it, but it seems to be the one thing that gets bumped in my hectic life.  I am going to set a goal of 2 posts a week for July, and if I post more than that, then it’s a bonus.

So, let’s get to it!  🙂

One thing that should help me get some time to blog is that I am officially caught up on Game of Thrones.  Why did I wait so long to watch this show?  I friggin’ LOVED it!  I did not love that they are killing off all my favourite people, but other than that, what a great show!  Anyways, now that I’m not watching GOT on my lunch hour, I can use that time to blog… at least I hope that will be the case!

I think I mentioned before I disappeared for 2 months, that I was doing the Whole Life Challenge again.  This time, along with following the challenge rules, I also followed a macro plan given to me by one of the coaches at the gym.  The challenge is now over (thank god!) and I finished with some slight improvements.  I lost a few pounds, lost a few inches from my waist and hips, and improved my workout score.  All in all, it was okay, and although I didn’t lose as much weight or inches as I did on my very first challenge, at least I lost and didn’t gain, which tends to happen to me as we get into the summer months as BBQ’s and beers become more frequent.

Towards the end of the challenge my coach changed my macro plan.  The first set of macro targets they gave me was based on the Eat to Perform calculator.  It gave me a lot of calories each day (2136), and I actually had a hard time eating enough to meet my targets ( 215g carbs on workout days, 105 on rest days, 150g protein, 75g fat).  Probably with about 2 weeks left in the challenge, I was given new targets based on the If It Fits Your Macros calculator.  My coach says this one is better for women, and it gives me quite a few less calories, mainly from a much lower fat target (1606 cals, 201g carb, 110g protein, 40g fat).

Even though the challenge is over, I am continuing to eat to my new macro targets.  It’s actually easier to do now that I’m not restricted by any WLC rules.  I can pretty much eat whatever I want, as long as it fits my macros!  I’ve been much more successful with these new targets, and with a little planning, and some creative snacking, I’m coming pretty close to all goals most days.

I have had to make a few changes to reduce my fat consumption.  Breakfast used to look like this:

IMG_4441

Baked sweet potato topped with taco meat, veggies and 2 fried eggs.

and now it looks like this:

IMG_4455

Toasted whole wheat English muffin topped with light herb cream cheese, sliced ham and 1/2 cup of fried egg whites.

And at the end of the day, when you have a bunch of macros left to eat, you get pretty creative with your snacks:

IMG_4473

10 jalapeno stuffed olives, 4 slices ham, and a Skinny Cow chocolate and vanilla drumstick!

All in all, at the end of the day yesterday, I was right on with my carb target, and just under my fat and protein, but I’ll take that!
IMG_4475I’m sure there will be a few more changes that I need to make along the way, but so far, they have all been worth it!

changeHave you made any changes lately?  

7 responses to “Making Changes

  1. Life happens! It’s good to see you posting again! I miss reading about your life, hockey and golf and all the crazy crossfitty things you do!
    I finally got a new post up this week too!
    My goal is to post more as well, we can do this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. j!b says:

    I’m struggling too with posting often. Reading posts daily just not writing. I’m glad that you’re back! I want to read about what you’ve been up to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • cathyo says:

      In really want to be more consistent with my posts. It helps me stay on track with everything, plus I really do like it when I do. I need to make it a priority again and make it happen.

      Like

  3. Jill says:

    Welcome back! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Leapin Lizardz says:

    Glad to see you blogging again!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

