My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Sleep Update

on August 29, 2015

As I mentioned in my post earlier this week, I am making it a goal for September to get at least 7 hours of sleep a night.  I have actually been working on this one for a while now, since I finally got fed up with feeling so tired all the time.

looking forward to sleep

I’ve been listening to a number of health-based podcasts, and it is surprising how often the topic of sleep comes up as a key to good health.  The general consensus seems to be that adults need somewhere between 7 and 9 hours of sleep a night.  I found this on the web:

hoursofsleep

One podcast, “Life in Focus” with Dr. Alessandra Wall & Christopher Browning, actually suggested that teens might need as much as 13 hours of sleep at night, given how much their bodies and brains are growing and changing.  Guess I shouldn’t nag my 16-year-old who could sleep the whole day away  🙂  Seems like he is just letting his body do it’s thing!

Anyways…adults need between 7-9 hours of sleep.  Until I stated focusing on getting more sleep, I averaged somewhere between 6 and 7 hours of sleep.  Getting 7 hours or more was quite rare, and tended to only happen on weekends when I didn’t really have a set time to get up.  Since making a conscious effort to get more sleep (and actually setting an alarm to let me know it’s time to start thinking about going to bed – more on this to come in a future post), I have been doing quite a bit better.  It also helps that we are still in summer vacation mode, and don’t have to get the kids ready for school in the morning, so hubs and I have been sleeping in a bit and not getting up for work as early as we need to during the school year.

Here’s how my last week of sleep looked, as tracked by my Fitbit:

hours slept
Not too bad, if I do say so myself!  I hit my 7 hour target all but one night, and even then I came pretty close.  Wednesday I got some bonus sleep, as I was feeling totally run down, and decided after presenting to a client all morning that I was just going to go home and nap instead of going back to the office.  I don’t get to nap that often.  It was awesome and I slept like a rock!  I really should try to squeeze a nap in more often – maybe not a 3 hour nap, but a half hour every once in a while might be nice.

Here is the detail of my sleep.  The lines show times when I was either restless (blue lines) or awake (pink lines):

daily breakdown

Even though I’m hitting my 7 hours, I still have some work to do on my sleep quality.  I seem to wake up at least once very night and some nights I seem to be quite restless.  Not really too sure how to improve the sleep quality.  Guess I will have to hit up Google and do some research.

I’ve got one more week of “summer mode” and then it’s back into “school mode” when I have to get up about an hour earlier than I am now.  Losing that hour will make it challenging to get my 7 hours.  I will just have to make it a priority to get to bed earlier.  That should be interesting!

Do you get at least 7 hours of sleep a night?
Have any tips on how to improve your quality of sleep?

2 responses to “Sleep Update

  1. Jill says:

    I have always made sleep a priority and get 9 hours+ a night. But, I go to bed early – old people early – and get up early. I agree that a good night of sleep makes all the difference in my performance in all of my waking hours.

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I should go to bed “old people early” but I don’t get home from the gym until after 9:30 which makes that difficult. My goal is to start the process by 10:30 which gives me a bit of time to unwind after the gym and hit 7 hours if I’m asleep by 11. We’ll see how it goes! 😴😴

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

