My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

My Happiness Project

on September 4, 2015

I mentioned before that I had started listening to Podcasts on my drive into and out of work – click here to read that post. I’ve really been enjoying Gretchen Rubin’s “Happier” podcast.  So much so that I also decided to read her book,  “The Happiness Project”.  Between the podcast and the book, I decided it was time for me to start my own happiness project. As you can see, my blog is called “My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans”.  For the most part, my posts have dealt with my pursuit of skinny jeans or the fitness and nutrition part of things.  I really haven’t dealt too much with the happiness side of things.

Don’t get me wrong.  My life really isn’t that bad, but I do think I have room to be happier – probably every one does.  So after listening to the Happier podcast, I figured I had nothing to lose by giving it a try, and implementing a happiness project of my own.  I’ve been using the tag of “my happiness project” for a few weeks now in various posts, but as of today, with this post, I am officially kicking off My Happiness Project!

MHPI’m sure this project will evolve as I get further into it, but for now, I am going to try implementing the various “try this at home” (TTAH) tips that Gretchen and her sister, Elizabeth, talk about during their weekly podcast and other things that struck a chord with me from the book.  From what I can tell so far, most of the content of the book is being covered off in the podcasts, which nicely reinforces the concepts from the book. I like this, as it makes the concepts and tasks easier for me to remember, since Gretchen and Elizabeth always give examples from their life to help explain the various happiness habits and tasks they are talking about.  Most of the TTAH tips are really simple, quick, and easy things that seem like they would be easy to implement into my daily life and routine.  Which is good, because if they were big and complicated the likelihood that I would keep doing them is pretty slim.

The first TTAH that I implemented was from Episode 3:  Make your bed.  It sounded so simple and so easy…which is why I decided to get started with this tip.  Most days I already did make my bed…but I’ve been faithfully doing it daily since the end of July and I have to say, seeing a nicely made bed every time I walk into my bedroom does make me a bit happier..or at least doesn’t reduce my happiness.  I think I’ve even rubbed off on my hubby, since if he’s the second one out of the bed, he sometimes will take a minute and make the bed – which really just means straightening the duvet cover.

the bed is made

The second TTAH that I implemented was from Episode 2:  Set an alarm for bedtime.  If you’ve been reading aong with my blog regularly, you know that getting enough sleep has always been a challenge for me.  When I heard the tip about setting an alarm to bed, I thought it was genius.  By setting an alarm for bed, it reminds me that I’ve decided to make sleep a priority and that if I want to hit my goal of 7 hours, I need to start my bedtime routine.  So far, I haven’t really been too successful with this one.  Most days the alarm goes off and I turn it off and finish watching whatever show we’ve been watching on tv.  Some days I do go upstairs and get ready for bed, but those days are rare. Hopefully I will get better at this one, since I really do want and need to get more sleep

.sleep alarm
So, there you have it…the first few pieces of my happiness project.  My plan is to implement a new TTAH every week, while maintaining the previous tasks I’ve built into my daily life and routine.  Some will be easy, some will be hard, and some I’m pretty sure I won’t do.  Regardless, I’m hoping they all contribute in some way to improving my overall happiness, which I’m hoping will improve the overall happiness of everyone in my family.

Have you ever done a happiness project of your own?  How did it go…did it make you happier?

Feel free to try these TTAH tips yourself and let me know how you do.

3 responses to “My Happiness Project

  1. Love this blog! One of my favourites! I love focussing on happiness instead of those skinny jeans! I love a good made bed too (although, I am usually not the one making it).

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      Hahah! I’m not giving up on the skinny jeans! Just hoping for a little more happiness and these things seem like good ideas regardless so may as well give them a try.

      Like

  2. […] week now, so I figured it was time for an update.  As I mentioned in my Happiness Project kick-off post, I started my project with two simple things:  Making my bed every day, and setting an alarm for […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

