My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Back to the Grind

on September 8, 2015

Today was the first day of school in my neck of the woods.  For me, that means back to early mornings, car pools, and heavier traffic coming into the city.  None of this really makes me happy.  To be honest, all three of these things might actually reduce my level of happiness, which it too bad, since I am working on my Happiness Project and supposed to be doing things that make me happier.

So, to combat this, I need to find a way to make those three things seem better.  Here’s what I plan to do:

Early mornings:  All summer I was sleeping in about an extra hour to an hour and a half on weekday mornings.  That was awesome and it really helped me hit my goal of 7 hours of sleep a night.  Now that the alarm is back to going off at 6:30am, to get my 7 hours, I need to be asleep by 11:30 at the latest (and even earlier would be better).  For that to happen, I probably need to start by bedtime routine by 10:45pm at the latest.  This will give me time to change, brush my teeth, etc, and give me some time to read before I actually go to sleep.  I’ve got my alarm set for 10:45, so when it goes off, I need to head upstairs and start the process.  Otherwise, I don’t have a chance of hitting my 7 hours and will likely be tired and grumpy the next day.
time for bed

Car pool:  There isn’t too much I can do about this one.  My oldest goes to school in the city and I drive him in every day.  This is not a problem at all, since his school is about 5 minutes away from my office….which is part of the reason why we chose this school when we were searching. There are a few other kids from our area who also go to the school who can’t get there on their own, so I drive them to/from school for their parents.  This is fine, however, when the other kids are in the car, my son tends to put his headphones on and listen to music and zone out or sleep for the whole drive.  When it’s just the two of us, the headphones stay off and we generally chat for the hour long drive to school.  I miss this time with him when the other kids are with us.  I’m not too sure what to do about this one yet…I will keep thinking on it.
car pool
Traffic into the city.  While there isn’t too much I can do about the volume of traffic, I have decided that at least twice a week I will make the time in the car more enjoyable by listening to one of the podcasts I follow on the drive into school.  I’m not sure what the kids will think about this, but who knows, maybe they will learn something.  The podcasts I’m listening to are all about being healthier and happier, so maybe they will find them interesting, and if not, oh well!  Who knows, maybe the podcasts will generate some conversation from my normally silent travelling companions and address item #2 above too.  Fingers crossed!
podcasts

So that’s my plan of attack to try to not let the daily grind become a happiness suck.

How do you not let things become a happiness suck?

Have any other suggestions on how I can make sure these three things don’t get to me?

2 responses to “Back to the Grind

  1. Bezzymates says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a good plan. It’s hard getting back to the grind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

