My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

I Got A New Gadget

on September 9, 2015

So, it was my birthday on the weekend and hubby came through big time!  He got me a super cool golf gadget, called Game Golf.
game golfAccording to their website, “GAME GOLF gives you a revolutionary way to track your shot performance. Shot by shot, it records all your stats so you can visualize your game like never before and enjoy it on a whole new level. Don’t just view how you did on your scorecard. Gain the insights you need to start shaving strokes off your golf game.”

I’d discovered Game Golf earlier in the golf season at one of my EWGA events, when one of the girls who was playing had the device clipped to her waistband.  I asked her what it was and she told me what it did.  I immediately thought it was so cool and mentioned it to hubs when I got home.  I think I might have sent him a link to the website at some other point this summer, again saying I thought it was a neat gadget.

I was super excited when I opened my gift to find this inside the bag.  I’m a horrible golfer, but I love gadgets, especially one that might help improve my game!  We were at the cottage when I got my gift, so I had to wait until we got back home to set things up.

Set up was very easy.  I created an account, set up my golf bag by telling it what kind of clubs I had in my bag, assigned pins to each club, charged the device, and was ready to go.

GAME-GOLF-Club-Tags

It was very simple.  I found a little “how to use” write-up on their website, had a quick read, and was ready to play my first round with it yesterday at my EWGA league night.

When I got to the course, I turned on the device, clipped it to my skirt, and went about getting ready for my round.  By the time I got to the first tee, it had picked up the satellites, and I was ready to go.  Using the system was very easy too.  Every time before I took my shot, I just tapped the pin on my club to the device, which they refer to as “tagging”, and it gave a little vibration and beep, letting me know the club was registered.  Then I took my usual shot and walked up to the ball for my next shot, where I chose the club I wanted, “tagged”, shot, and repeated the process until I holed out, including putts.  A couple of times I did forget to tag, mostly putts, so I just went back to roughly where I had putt from and made the tag.

Once I got to my computer, I connected my device and downloaded my round.  I was able to edit my holes to add penalty strokes for lost balls, etc, and add in shots that I forgot to tag (I forgot to tag my third shot out of the same bunker!), and then I saved my round.  And voila…my 9-hole round as I played it, shot for shot.

my round
You can also select a hole and get a shot by shot summary:
6th hole

Here you can see where I added in the penalty shots for going into the crap along the left side of the hole on both my first and second shots.  The course treats it all as lateral, so I could just play my next shot from where it went in.

Overall, not a great round.  I took 2 penalty strokes on the 6th hole, one of the 7th (3 off the tee!) and another on the 8th (another 3 off the tee!!).  That’s 4 extra strokes.  That, plus 3 shots to get out of one bunker (2 extra strokes) and 2 to get out of another (1 extra stroke), all add up to about 7 extra strokes – Yikes!  Ugh…golf is so frustrating!  But I love it, and can’t wait to track all of my rounds for the rest of the season…especially the ones I will be playing next week in Middlefield, CT at the EWGA Cup North East Qualifier (more on that to come in a future post!).

Anyone else out there use Game Golf?
Let me know so we can follow each other and cheer each other on.

Leave a Reply

