My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

A Week Off From The Gym

on September 14, 2015

I’ve put my CrossFit membership on hold for the week.  I can’t get in for my usual 4 classes this week, so rather than waste a week with only one class, I’ve put it on hold.  While this is financially a smart move, it makes me sad to miss a whole week of class 😦  I miss it when I can’t get to the gym.
miss the gym
I have a good reason for not making it to the gym this week:  I’m off to Connecticut on Wednesday to play in the EWGA Cup North East Regional Qualifier!  This is a team match play competition, and I’m part of team “Grip It & Sip It”…8 ladies who love golf and who have been known, on occasion, to enjoy a cocktail or two!

We leave Wednesday, late afternoon, and will be stopping in Lee, Massachusetts overnight and hitting an outlet mall Thursday morning, before making our way Middlefield, CT, where the competition is being held. We are playing at Lyman Orchards, and have our practice round Friday afternoon.  The tournament rules meeting is Friday evening and competition kicks off at 8am Saturday with the four ball matches.  Sunday is singles match play.  Top 6 teams (out of 16) from the qualifier will go on to play in the EWGA Cup finals Nov 13-14 in Kissimmee, FL  at Reunion Resort!  Last year we played in the finals in Pheonix.  I wrote a bit about it here…and then fell off the blog wagon.  (We didn’t win, but we were the best placing Canadian team…and we had a very good time!)

I can’t wait!  We have team outfits and we are going to look spectacular.  I will save the full outfit reveal for another post, but here’s just a tease…our hats…how awesome is this?

GRIP SIP HAT
Despite not going to the gym this week, I will still be fairly active.  I have my regular league golf round tomorrow (I’m hoping work cooperates and I can leave a bit early to squeeze this in), and then golf Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  Tonight, I am going to try to do a basement WOD.  I’m hoping to do a modified version of the WOD from the gym.

sept 14 wod

I’ve got a rack, barbell, and plates downstairs so I can work at finding my 3 rep max back squat.  For the Met Con, they are doing Karen, 150 wall balls – YIKES!  I don’t have a wall ball, or a wall high enough to do wall balls at home, but I do have dumbbells, so I’m thinking of modifying to 150 dumbbell thrusters.  This will give me a good leg workout and the thruster sort of mimics the wall ball toss part of it.  I’m pretty sure I will hate it just as much as if I did Karen!  Now, I just need to make sure I make it to the basement to actually do it!

Anyone want to join me for my basement WOD?  Or at least hold me accountable for it?

5 responses to “A Week Off From The Gym

  1. I’d love to join in on your basement WOD. Have fun at the tournament. Great combo of golf and sipping.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mommygorun says:

    You can keep your WOD 😉 I’ll just run a bit! Have a great time golfing! You deserve a great time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

