My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Hello November!

on November 1, 2015

hello november

It’s November!  How did that happen?  Time is certainly flying by this year!

A new month means a fresh start and new goals.  Just like my goals for September and October, in November I will continue my 3 main goals:

  1. Blog 3 times a week
  2. Track macros (more on this in a minute)
  3. 7 hours of sleep a night

This month, goals 1 and 2 will have some help:

1.  Blog 3 times a week:  I’ve not been doing so well with this one.  I mean to, but I just can’t seem to post that often.  In October I only posted 7 times.  Not quite 3 times a week!  Lots of days I think about posting, but don’t really have all that much to say, so don’t bother.  To help with this, I’ve registered for NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) through BlogHer.
NaBloPoMo_1115_465x287_prompts

The idea behind this is you blog every day for November. They give prompts to help for every weekday in November, and Saturday and Sunday are free days.  I’m not sure I will blog every one of their prompts, but I’m hoping it will help me on those days when I just don’t have much to say.  I’m going to try to write every day.  They won’t always be long posts, but my plan is to take some time on my lunch hour and write. It will be good and force me to take a short break from work, instead of just scarfing down my lunch at my desk and basically working right through.  We’ll see how it goes!

2.  Track macros:   I mentioned this yesterday, but my CrossFit gym’s Monthly Member Challenge is to track our macros and come within 5 grams for carbs, proteins and fats (it was originally within 2 grams, but some thought that might be too tough, so they eased it back to 5).  So within 5 grams, but for 2 days a week we need to hit out targets exactly.  i am going to give it a shot, but I”m not sure how successful I will be.  I have been paying attention to my food pretty closely for the last 2 months and I’m pretty sure that I haven’t hit my targets, or come within 5 grams, any day within that time.  Here’s today as an example.
IMG_0049

I’m done eating for the day, but still have quite a bit of room left.  I’m not really hungry and don’t feel like eating anything else just for the sake of getting all my macros.  Maybe I should, but I just don’t feel like eating anything else.  My goal is to track and do my best.  Not sure I will come within 5 grams or be perfect ever, but I will give it my best shot.

3.  Sleep 7 hours.  I’m still struggling with this one a bit.  I am usually in bed for over 7 hours, but most nights don’t actually sleep for 7 hours.  I seem to wake up quite a bit or I’m restless (according to my Fitbit) and just not sleeping well.  It’s a bit frustrating.  I keep hoping that one night I will just sleep. So far it hasn’t happened, but I’m hopeful.

So, there they are.  My same old goals, just kicked up a notch.  I’m looking forward to seeing how November plays out. Hopefully it doesn’t fly by as quickly as October did!

Do you have any goals for November?

2 responses to “Hello November!

  1. j!b says:

    I’d love to post more often as well. Like you, I often think about it but most days I don’t have much to say. I’m participating in a beachbody 21 day fix challenge so my meals will be following a plan. We’ll see how that goes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

