My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

Rainy Sunday

on August 5, 2012

Today I was planning on getting up early and going for my 10k long run.  I set my alarm for 6am, so I would have time for a quick bite, then hit the road and get my run in before it got too hot.

Well, when I was woken up at 5:30 by a huge thunderstorm with some pretty impressive lightning and heavy, heavy rain, I turned off my alarm and just rolled over and went back to sleep.  A few hours later, it had stopped raining, but there were still severe thunderstorm warnings for most of the day.  Bummer.  I checked the weather and it looks like tomorrow is supposed to be a much better day, so I will skip today and do my long run tomorrow instead, since I hate running in the rain – especially by myself.

To help with my running motivation and help keep me moving out there, I have been searching the internet for some running tunes.  I found a couple of sets that claim to be “the best running songs”.  I’ve downloaded them and put them into a running playlist on my iPod.  I will try them out tomorrow and see if it helps keep me going.  I will let you know.

It’s been raining off and on all day, so we’ve spent most of the day watching the Olympics.  I love watching the diving.  The Sprint in Track Cycling confuses me…it’s a cat and mouse game for two laps and then they just haul ass and go as fast as they can for one lap.  I guess it’s all about strategy.  All Canadians are quite proud of Rosie MacLennan and her Gold Medal performance on the Trampoline.  It was awesome to watch.

Tonight is the dinner and awards ceremony for SLSC Civic Regatta that the kids participated in yesterday.  Hopefully the rain stops long enough for the BBQ dinner as it is held on the lawn of a couple cottages and I’m not sure where they would put that many people if it rains.

My eating has not been very clean so far this weekend.  It hasn’t been horrible, but it could be better.  When I’m in charge of the meals next week, we will be eating much cleaner.  I am going to put together our menu for the week tonight when I dig into my clean eating magazines and find yummy mains, sides and snacks.  Hopefully the small Sobey’s in town will have all the ingredients I need for whatever I decide to cook.  Most things will be BBQ’d and lots of fresh veggies and salad ingredients.  I also saw a recipe for a really good looking Summer Pasta Salad that I want to make this week.  You can find the recipe here on InHerChuck’s blog.  Doesn’t it look good?

In Her Chuck’s Summer Pasta Salad

Hope your weekend is going well.  We’ve got one more day tomorrow since it’s a stat holiday here in Canada tomorrow.  Then our family heads home and our friends start rolling in for our holiday week. I can’t wait…it’s gonna be a great week!

Cheers!


3 responses to “Rainy Sunday

  1. inherchucks says:

    Let me know how it goes…I’m still enjoying mine 🙂

    Like

  2. inherchucks says:

    ps: thanks for the shout out 🙂

    Like

  3. Long weekends yes!! Yay Canada 🙂 And yes watching the trampoline event was amazing 🙂 The back story about her Grandfather was very moving….

    Like

Leave a comment