My Pursuit of Happiness and Skinny Jeans

My journey to a smaller jean size

The Sunday Six

on July 15, 2013

NOTE:  I am quite aware that it is Monday today, but I started this post yesterday and I’m too lazy to make up a new graphic, so I am just going to stick with the Sunday Six as the theme!  That being said, I did get to item number 1 and part way through item number 2 before I got derailed by a car ride and the premiere of the new season of The Newsroom! 

My life seems to be a tad on the crazy busy side of things these days….and my blog has taken a bit of a backseat.  I missed this week’s Friday Five, so I’m going to make up for it with a Sunday Six!

sunday six

1.  I had a couple of good workouts this week!  I wore my heart rate monitor to my ball hockey game on Wednesday.  Here’s how that looked:  photo (3)

I also wore my heart rate monitor to CrossFit on Thursday night.  I know I’m getting a good workout because I leave the Box a sweaty, exhausted mess.  Here’s how that looked:
Image

Seems like both of these activities are a pretty good workout.  The ball hockey is impressive because in that total 57 minutes, I’m only playing about half of that time, since we take shifts.  We play two 20 minute running time periods, so that hour is really probably closer to 15 minutes of game time for me.  Not a bad caloric burn for 15 active minutes!

I was surprised by how many calories I burned at CrossFit.  I usually count a WOD as about 300 calories when I put it into MyFitnessPal.  Seems like I might have been a bit on the low side with that.  The WOD was 2 parts..the WOD itself (5 rounds for time of 400m run and 50 squats) and then a circuit of different moves.  The hour broke down like this:  10 minutes for warm up, a few minutes for station set up for the ring dips and Pendlay rows, 18:26 for the WOD, and the rest of the hour working through the 3 stations 3 times each.

At some point I am going to need to figure out what the fat burn and fitness numbers really mean.  I know what they mean in general, but I’d like to know how it calculates what is a fat burn minute versus what is a fitness minute.  Both workouts show close to the same % fat burn, but very different fat burn minutes???  Anyone know what this is or means?

2.  We had a fantastic weekend at the cottage.  We decided late in the week since the weather was supposed to be so good that we would head up to the cottage for the weekend.  This was a fantastic decision on our part!  The weather was perfect.  We had two good nights of bonfires:
photo (5)

On Saturday we took a day trip to Burleigh Falls.  It’s only about 45 minutes from our cottage but I’d never been there before.  The rest of my family had been there a couple of years ago when I was at a golf event.  Anyways, Burleigh Falls is a small waterfall and rapids and you can jump off a small cliff into the bottom of the rapids.  For some reason I was a giant chicken and just couldn’t get myself to jump into the rapids.  Finally, at the end of the day I did it and it was awesome.  I just wish I could have done it sooner in the day.  Oh well, I got some good sun and I had a good vantage point to keep doing a head count as we had 10 kids with us between the 3 families that went on the day trip.

It was another fantastic sunset on Saturday night.  I never get tired of this view:
photo (6)

Sunday was spent following the sun around the yard, trying to even out my burn!  My back got pretty toasty at Burleigh Falls, so Sunday I tried to face the sun to give my back a break.  The kids went tubing and kayaking and just enjoyed a fun-filled day on the water.  And as seems to be a bit of a pattern, the kids have managed a few extra days at the cottage with the cousins down the road.  They are getting dropped off at home on Tuesday sometime.  I sure wish I could get a few extra days up there, but I will have to wait until my week of holidays the first week of August.  The countdown is on!

3.  Since we had no kids at home last night we went for a moonlit cruise in the Miata!  We got home from the cottage a bit late, grabbed a pizza for dinner, and watched Big Brother.  Then, since it was still so nice out, I got hubs to take me out for a little cruise.  We had a nice drive, saw some amazing houses, and had some nice chats about nothing in particular.  I was a great little date night.  Hopefully this can become a regular thing.  Lord knows with the amount that we are paying to insure the thing we might as well drive it as much as we can!

photo (7)
4.  I have another crazy week of workouts and sports ahead of me.  Here’s how this week looks:

Monday:  CrossFit 8:30
Tuesday:  Golf 4:50, Ball hockey 10pm
Wednesday: CrossFit 5:30, Jacko Ball hockey 8pm, my ball hockey 10pm
Thursday:  either shopping for a golf outfit with my scramble team or CrossFit at 8:30
Friday:  either CrossFit at 1pm, or a rest day – depends what happens on Thursday…and then drive to the cottage
Saturday/Sunday:  COTTAGE and relaxing!

I’ve only got a few more weeks of ball hockey left and I’m looking forward to it being over and dropping back to only 1 thing a night and maybe getting an extra “day off” in my schedule.  Of course, on those days off I really should be doing my pull up program and my double under practicing as I haven’t been doing those at all and if I don’t get my butt in gear soon, I won’t make my goal of an unassisted pull up and 20 consecutive double unders by the end of the summer.

5.  I can’t wait to go to CrossFit tonight.  I missed my Friday class last week as a little family emergency came up and I needed to go help my son babysit my niece as she really wasn’t feeling very well and he just needed a little moral support.  So my Friday afternoon was spent rocking a sweet little girl and trying to get her to stop crying instead of going and lifting heavy things. So, I’m looking forward to getting back to the Box and getting a good sweat on.  That shouldn’t be a problem tonight, since it’s about 33 degrees out and feeling like 40 with the humidity (that’s about 91 and 104F)..so pretty friggin’ hot!

Tonight’s WOD is:
wod july 15

I’m not sure I will be able to do the squat cleans at 95lbs…I don’t remember what my weight for the squat clean is…I will have to check my WOD book when I get to the Box.  And it looks like the last time they did this WOD was back in July of last year.  That is before my CrossFit time, so this will be my benchmark for this WOD.  I’m guessing it will be tough…all the 21-15-9 WODs that I’ve done so far have been killer!  I can’t wait!

6.  We are loving the Harvest Share boxes we are getting!  Last week was week 3 of the program for us and we got another amazing basket of goodies.
photo (8)

We got:  strawberries, lettuce, Swiss chard, orange peppers, red and white baby potatoes, onions, celery, cucumber, beets, and 2 baskets of the biggest peas in the pod I have ever seen.  I think there was something else buried under there too, but I can’t remember what it was!  In typical fashion, the strawberries didn’t make it to the fridge – we ate those in about 1 minute flat.  The peas also did not make it to the fridge.  The kids and I tried one and then before we knew it, they were gone.  Holy deliciousness! That’s a pea pod graveyard on the right side of the photo!
Image (1)

We are already looking forward to seeing what sort of goodies arrive this week.

Now, I’ve got just enough time to run the spell check, get this published, and go get ready for CrossFit.

Hope you all had a great weekend and are ready for a great week.

How is your week ahead looking?  As crazy busy as mine seems to be?
Only 4 more days until the weekend Smile


2 responses to “The Sunday Six

  1. The cottage pictures are so relaxing. I’m glad you are getting some date nights in your mix!

    Like

    • cathyo says:

      I love the cottage. It’s away from the world but with all the perks of home (wifi, cable, dishwasher) …and that view! The date nights have been fun. Hopefully we can keep them up.

      Like

Leave a comment